EndNote Essentials-How to Guide (Biomedical)

You may wish to organize your records into groups
 

• Under Groups, choose Create Group or Create Smart Group 
• Groups require manual relocation of records. One record can be in multiple groups.
• Smart Groups use criteria you set to automatically retrieve matching citations within your EndNote library.

You may wish to remove duplicates
 

Be sure not to have duplicate records in your library when using CWYW: If inserted into your document, duplicate records will show up as multiple references in your reference list and citations.

• Under References choose Find duplicates
• To edit specifications for de-duplication, go to File > Preferences > Duplicates
• Choose Keep this record to eliminate one of the duplicate records

If using EndNote for deduplication for a knowledge synthesis, please refer to http://libraryguides.mcgill.ca/knowledge-syntheses/deduplicating for additional guidance

You can link the full text of articles to your EndNote library
 

• Go to Preferences
• Choose the Find Full Text option
• Add the URL & Authentication paths:
  • URL: http://mcgill.on.worldcat.org/atoztitles/link
  • Path: https://proxy.library.mcgill.ca/login?url=

I. Start with the find full text option
 

• Click on reference(s) of interest
• Under References choose Find full text (also right click)
• When the authentication page appears, if off campus, type in your McGill email address and password. Click OK. You need to authenticate only once during your session
• An EndNote copyright box will appear every time you attempt to locate full text articles. Click OK each time this box appears
• A search will begin. If the full text is found it will be added to the reference and a small paper clip will appear and PDF full text document will be attached

Note: this function is a bit hit and miss- it may not work for all of the references in your library. If it doesn't work, use the OpenURL option for those references.
 

II. OpenURL option
 

• Click on one reference of interest
• Under References chose URL then OpenURL link
• This will open a browser window with a link to the full text if available through McGill Library. After you save the article (PDF) see below for instructions on attaching it to the reference.

You may wish to attach a file to your reference such as a PDF or .doc
 

• Under References choose File attachments then Attach file…
• When the file is attached, a small paper clip will appear next to the reference

You may wish to import a PDF you have already saved into your library
 

• Select File > Import > File (or select Folder if you have a folder of PDFs on your computer) from the EndNote menu.
• Select the PDF file you wish to import.
• Select the PDF option under the Import Option drop down menu.

In order to share a library you will need to compress it
 

• Choose to compress the entire library, one group or selected set of references
• Under File choose Compressed Library, then Create. You must name this new file.

Note: This unique file will have a .enlx file extension rather than the standard .enl file and .Data folder

A second option is to select both .enl and .data right click and create a zipped folder

To quickly create a bibliography
 

• Select the references of interest
• Under Edit choose Copy formatted
• Paste the references in a Word document or email message

Note: The items in your bibliography will appear in the format and order you have selected in EndNote

Use this if the journal you’re submitting to uses a citation style unique to them
 

• Check if the journal format style is already in EndNote
  • Under Edit choose Output Styles then Open Style Manager. Search and select the journal
     
• If journal format style not in EndNote Style Manager
  • Go to https://endnote.com/downloads/styles/ and search for the journal or field to find relevant journals
  • Follow instructions on page for downloading