Find scores

• Sofia Discovery tool - In Sofia, McGill Libraries' catalogue, use the "Musical Score" format filter to limit your search to scores only.
• Gertrude Whitley Performance Library materials
  • The Performance Library catalogue (staff access only) includes most of the large ensemble scores and parts in the collection. Contact Performance Library staff to request information about holdings.
  • For recently added scores and parts, consult all listings of Performance Library materials appearing in the Sofia Discovery tool.
  • Jazz collection only: consult the Sofia catalogue for all Jazz materials in the Performance Library.
• McGill Sheet Music Collection
  • The McGill Sheet Music Collection consists of approximately 6,000 musical scores and includes popular and classical pieces from the 19th and 20th centuries.
  • The collection features the French and English popular song collection of Quebec singer Roger Doucet.
  • To request a search of the catalogue, please contact Music Library staff.

• Canadian Music Centre (CMC)
  • Explore and discover Canadian music
  • Consult lists of the CMC Associate Composers and their works
  • Many digital copies available for perusal online
• Daniels' Orchestral Music Online
  • Performance planning tool
  • Find information about orchestral music: instrumentation, voice types, duration, publisher, and availability
  • Useful resource for preparing concert program notes
• Zinfonia (music publisher portal)
  • Provides information from many of the world’s hire/rental and sale catalogues
  • Use the site to locate information about composers, title availability and publishers and to communicate directly with distributors to receive rental/sales quotes and place orders
  • Free registration required to access most services
• RILM Index to Scores and Collected Editions (RISE) (formerly known as IPM)
  • Find individual pieces within anthologies and score collections
  • Identify and obtain details about musical works

• Hofmeister-XIX
  • Online, searchable version of the Hofmeister Monatsberichte (Monthly Reports) for the years 1829–1900 with 330,000 records of music publications
  • Comprehensive resource for establishing the publication date and location of Western music scores during this period

• Heyer, Anna Harriet, comp. Historical Sets, Collected Editions, and Monuments of Music: A Guide to Their Contents. 3rd ed. 2 vols.
  • ML113 H52 1980
• Hill, George R., and Norris L. Stephens. Collected Editions, Historical Series & Sets & Monuments of Music: A Bibliography. Berkeley, CA: Fallen Leaf, 1997.
  • ML113 H55 1997​

• Fake Book Index
  • Allows users to locate tunes rapidly from a wide selection of fake books published by Hal Leonard, Chuck Sher, Frank Mantooth, Warner Bros, and Wise Publications
  • Search by title or title words

• RISM: Répertoire International des Sources Musicales 
  Series A/II, Music Manuscripts after 1600; Series A/I, Individual Prints before 1800; and a portion of B/I, Recueils imprimés, XVIe-XVIIe siècles (Printed collections of the 16th-17th centuries), covering the years 1500-1550.
  Use the Advanced search screen to search by publisher, plate number, A/I or B/I number, and musical incipit (using an on-screen keyboard). 
• Gale Primary Sources - Media Guide
  • The Music Library owns selections from the Music Manuscripts Collection, Series 1-5, and the entire Women Composers Collection
  • Use the Gale Primary Sources Media Guide to locate the index to each microfilm reel
  • The Women Composers Collection has been digitized and can be accessed at HathiTrust

The Music Library holds many Renaissance music manuscripts and prints on microfilm. Consult these guides to discover the manuscripts and prints held at the Library:

• Renaissance music MSS on microfilm at the Marvin Duchow Music Library
  • The Renaissance manuscript guide contains the Census catalogue number, manuscript name, source library, and microfilm number for each item
• Renaissance printed music on microfilm at the Marvin Duchow Music Library
  • The Renaissance print guide contains the RISM number, title incipit, source library, and microfilm number for each item

• McGill users only
• Open access resource
• Free resource
• In-library use
• Catalogue record