The Cambridge Aerospace Dictionary is an essential tool for professionals involved in the aerospace industry and flight, and for anyone who must read and understand the technical literature of the aerospace industry and about specific air and space craft.
This ultimate reference book contains more than 11,000 accurate, aviation-specific terms and definitions. Nearly 500 illustrations further define and aid visual recognition of the terms, and useful tables and lists are included in appendices. In an industry of acronyms and technical language, this comprehensive dictionary is an essential reference book for anyone involved with aviation and/or space organizations. The ASA Dictionary of Aeronautical Terms, now in its Seventh Edition, is a vital reference tool that belongs on every aviation bookshelf.
Coverage ranges from core disciplines such as electrical and electronic engineering, mechanical engineering and physics, to advanced materials, digital technology and environmental science, all of which have an ever-increasing, interactive role in modern air and spacecraft design.
The two-volume Encyclopedia of Space Science and Technology represents an ambitious collection of the underlying physical principles of rockets, satellites, and space stations; what is known by astronomers about the sun, planets, galaxy, and universe; and the effect of the space environment on human and other biological systems.
Engineers need to acquire "Back-of-the-Envelope" survival skills to obtain rough quantitative answers to real-world problems, particularly when working on projects with enormous complexity and very limited resources.
Whether an airplane or a space shuttle, a flying machine requires advanced materials to provide a strong, lightweight body and a powerful engine that functions at high temperature. The Aerospace Materials Handbook examines these materials, covering traditional superalloys as well as more recently developed light alloys.
Aerospace project management has become a pathway for success in harsh space environments. This comprehensive book offers a step-by-step approach emphasizing the applied techniques and tools, and is a prime resource for program managers, technical leads, systems engineers and principle payload leads.
The handbook is a completely multi-disciplinary reference book that covers, in an in-depth fashion, the fields of satellite telecommunications, Earth observation, remote sensing, satellite navigation, geographical information systems, and geosynchronous meteorological systems. It covers current practices and designs as well as advanced concepts and future systems. It provides a comparative analysis of the common technologies and design elements for satellite application bus structures, thermal controls, power systems, stabilization techniques, telemetry, command and control (TTC), and orbital configurations.
The Handbook of Space Technology presents a detailed insight into the fascinating world of space for the first time in the English language. Authored by over 70 leading experts from universities, research institutions and the space industry, this comprehensive handbook describes the processes and methodologies behind the development, construction, operation and utilization of space systems, presenting the profound changes that have occurred in recent years in the engineering, materials, processes and even politics associated with space technologies and utilization.