Skip to Main Content

Reference sources

Legal abbreviations sources, legal dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories, citations styles, and more

Legal dictionaries

  • Australian Law Dictionary. Key reference for those who need familiarity with Australian legal terms.
  • Barron's Canadian Law Dictionary (via Lexis Advance Quicklaw). This dictionary defines important legal terms, describes the Canadian court system and presents The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms in its entirely. It is fully updated to keep pace with revisions in Canadian national and provincial law. 
  • Bernstein's Dictionary of Bankruptcy Terminology. Most commonly used bankruptcy terms.
  • Black's Law Dictionary (via WestlawNext). One of the most widely-used legal dictionaries. "[D]efines more than 55,000 law-related words and phrases, recording their historical and present-day nuances." From the Westlaw homepage, select the International tab, and scroll down to Westlaw US.
  • Collins Dictionary of Law (Harper Collins) Comprehensive coverage of business law, Scott, and Irish law. Wide coverage of business law terms. Defines legal terms of the EU and Commonwealth countries. 
  • Dictionary of Conflict Resolution. The first dictionary for the field of conflict resolution. Offers common and varied uses of terms, clarifies differences between terms, and recommends accurate usage. 
  • Dictionnaires de droit privé en ligne (Paul-André Crépeau Centre for Private and Comparative Law). Legal terminology that reflect the bilingual and bijural specificity of Quebec's legal culture. Includes the Private Law Dictionary (2nd. ed), the Private Law Dictionary-Obligations and the Private Law Dictionary of the Family, in their French and English versions. 
  • Dictionnaire du droit privé français (Serge Braudo). Définition des termes se rapportant plus particulièrement aux matières suivantes: Droit civil, Droit international privé, Droit social, Droit commercial, Organisation des juridictions civiles de l"ordre judiciare, Droit procédural appliqué par les juridictions civiles et Droit des voies d'exécution. 
  • Irwin Law's Canadian Online Law Dictionary. A collaborative dictionary comprised, initially, of terms defined in the glossaries of Canadian law books published by Irwin Law.
  • JuriBistro eDICTIONNAIRE (via le CAIJ). Une adaptation numérique du Dictionnaire de droit québécois et canadien de Me Hubert Reid. Le terme anglais accompagne chaque définition.
  • Legal Dictionaries (via HeinOnline). Nearly 300 titles from various countries, on multiple topics.
  • Merriam-Webster's Dictionary of Law. Comprehensive guide to the language of law for everyone from the homeowner to the legal professional. 
  • Oxford Dictionary of Law (via Oxford Reference Online). Over 4,200 entries that clearly define the major terms, concepts, processes and the organization of the English legal system. 
  • Wex (Legal Information Institute). A collaborative legal dictionary and encyclopedia sponsored and hosted by the Legal Information Institute at the Cornell Law School, drafted and edited by legal experts.

Librarian

Profile Photo
Ana Rogers
Contact:
McGill University Library
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel Street
Montréal Québec H3A 1W9
514-398-4715 ext. #09013

Librarian

Profile Photo
Sonia Smith
Contact:
McGill University
Nahum Gelber Law Library
3660 Peel
Montreal, QC H3A 1W9
Canada
514-398-4715 ext. 09177
Subjects: Jewish studies, Law

Resource Key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library-use only
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice