Mechanical Engineering

The Encyclopedia of Automotive Engineering provides for the first time a large, unified knowledge base laying the foundation for advanced study and in-depth research. Beyond traditional automotive subjects, the encyclopedia addresses green technologies, the shift from mechanics to electronics, and the means to produce safer, more efficient vehicles within varying economic restraints worldwide.

The leading major reference work in computational engineering.

This book presents the theoretical and application aspects of fluid mechanics, high-speed flows, aerodynamics, high-enthalpy flows, experimental methods, aircraft design, heat transfer, and wind engineering. The text comprehensively introduces the subject vocabulary of fluid mechanics for use in courses in engineering and the physical sciences. It provides a ready reference source for readers to learn essential concepts related to flow physics, rarefied, and stratified flows . It comprehensively covers topics such as laser Doppler anemometer, latent heat of fusion, and latent heat of vaporisation.

The Encyclopedia of Systems and Control collects a broad range of short expository articles that describe the current state of the art in the central topics of control and systems engineering as well as in many of the related fields in which control is an enabling technology.

Since 1938, the Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia has enjoyed a reputation as one of the most important and comprehensive general scientific references available, suitable for both academic and professional environments.

The Handbook of Intelligent Vehicles provide complete coverage of the fundamentals, new technologies and sub-areas essential to the development of intelligent vehicles.

This handbook contains short, precise definitions of four thousand terms.

For more than 100 years, Machinery's Handbook has been the most popular reference work in metalworking, design, engineering and manufacturing facilities, and technical schools and colleges throughout the world.

This handbook provides a comprehensive exposition of the techniques and tools of experimental mechanics. An informative introduction to each topic is provided, which advises the reader on suitable techniques for practical applications.

This comprehensive Springer Handbook covers all major areas encompassed by the broad field of mechanical engineering. This second, substantially updated edition with many new chapters provides easily accessible but authoritative information in a clear structure. The book starts with concise chapters that cover the most important fundamentals of mathematics, mechanics and thermodynamics needed specifically in the engineering disciplines. It then provides a holistic description of the most relevant materials in engineering. Additional chapters put special emphasis on corrosion, tribology and inspection. Manufacturing techniques and machining processes, from traditional casting and forming to state-of-the-art precision machining on the microscopic scale are also extensively covered. Written by distinguished experts from industry and academia, this comprehensive Springer Handbook provides authoritative and state-of-the-art information of international validity for the professional engineer and those to be.

This handbook is an authoritative reference for robotics researchers, newcomers to the field and scholars from related disciplines. The contents are structured to achieve four main objectives: the enlargement of foundational topics for robotics, the enlightenment of design of various types of robotic systems, the extension of the treatment on robots moving in the environment, and the enrichment of advanced robotics applications.