How to find book reviews

• Book Review Digest Plus (Wilson), 1983-
• Book Review Index Online, 1965-
• New York Review of Books 1963-
• Times Literary Supplement (TLS) Centenary Archive, 1902-1990

Multidisciplinary databases that include book reviews

• Academic Search Complete
  Click the Advanced Search folder at top of the screen. Select Book Review in the Document Type section.
• ArticleFirst, 1990- (OCLC)
  Type "book reviews" between quotes in the Title search box.
• CBCA Complete (Proquest)
  Click on the More Search Options tab. Select Review - Book Review from the Document Type section.
• CPI.Q (Canadian Periodical Index) 1988-
  In the search field, type "book review" between quotes and title or author of reviewd book.
• Humanities and Social Sciences Index Retrospective, 1907-1984 (Wilson)
  Select Book review from Document Type section.
• Humanities International Index (Ebsco)
  Click the Advanced Search tab at top of the screen. Select Indexes from the green bar, browse the Document Type index, select Book Review, and add to your search.
• International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (CSA)
  Click the Advanced Search tab at top of the screen. Select Publication Type from the pull-down menu and type Review in one of the boxes before it.
• Project MUSE
  Search for author or title by selecting Author Reviewed or Title Reviewed fields.
• ProQuest Research Library 1971-
  Click on More Search Options. Select Review - Book Review beside Article Type.
• Repère, 1980-
  From the Publication Type section, select Compte rendu de livre.
• Social Sciences Full Text 1983 (Wilson)
  Select Book review from Document Type section.
• Humanities Full Text (Wilson)
  Select Book review from Document Type section.
• Readers' Guide Full Text (Wilson)
  Select Book review from Document Type section.
• Readers' Guide Retro (Wilson)
  Select Book review from Document Type section.
• Web of Science (ISI), 1900- (Includes Science, Social Science, Arts & Humanities)
  Choose the Advanced Search option below the yellow tabs. Select Book Review from the list of Document Types toward the bottom of the screen.

Subject-specific databases that include book reviews

• ABELL Online: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature, 1920-
  Select the Reviews checkbox from the Limit section.
• America: History & Life
  Includes references to reviews of books on American and Canadian history. Scroll down to theLimit tosection near the bottom of the screen, and click the box beside Review.
• ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
  Click the Advanced Search tab at top of the screen. Select Review in the Publication Type section.
• EconLit, 1960- 
  Click the Advanced Search tab at top of the screen. Select Review in the Publication Type section.
• Philosopher's Index 1940-
  Click the Advanced Search tab at top of the screen. Select Publication Type from the pull-down menu and type Review in one of the boxes before it.

Internet Resources

• Book and Entertainment Reviews
  O'Keefe Library, St.Ambrose University, Idaho.
• H-Net Reviews in the Humanities & Social Sciences OnLine
  H-Net is an interdisciplinary organization of volunteers dedicated to developing the educational potential of the Internet and World Wide Web. Centred at Michigan State University.
• Book Review Tutor
  Guidelines, with examples, on how to write historical book reviews, from the University of Calgary Applied History Research Group.
• Medieval Review
  Formerly the Bryn Mawr Medieval Review publishes online reviews of current work in all areas of Medieval Studies.
• ARD - The Anthropology Review Database
  Reviews of the literature (books, audiovisual materials, software & multimedia, exhibits, tourist sites, conferences, and on-line resources) in anthropology and related fields.
• The Complete Review
  A selectively comprehensive, objectively opinionated survey of books old and new, trying to meet all your book review, preview, and information needs.