Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hours. I will also be available via email and virtual consultation. For more information about the closure, please visit COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.
Several publishers have expanded access to their book and journal collections during the pandemic.
Consult this link for those that would be relevant to English, Film and Cultural Studies:
This collection of books covers historical eras and literary periods, genres and movements. Each chapter, covering various aspects of the subject or topic, is written by an authority in the field. Examples: History of the Gothic, Science Fiction, Modernism, Post-modernism, LGBT literature, Graphic Novel.
These reference books will provide brief or extended information on people, historical events/ periods, literary concepts/theories, and cultural/political ideas/ideologies.
The entries for the biographical sources below are all commissioned and written by authorities on the subject.
Locating Book Reviews
Reviews 18th and 19th Centuries.
Forster, Antonia. Index to book reviews in England, 1749-1774. Southern Illinois University Press, 1990. Z1035 A1 F67 1990 Reference Collection (paper copy)
Forster, Antonia. Index to book reviews in England, 1775-1800. British Library, 1997. Z1035 A1 F672 1997 Reference Collection (paper copy)
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in humanities journals, 1802-1974. Research Publications, 1982. 10 volumes Z1035 A1 C63 1982 Reference Collection (paper copy)
Combined retrospective index to book reviews in scholarly journals, 1886-1974. Carrollton Press, 1979. 15 volumes Z1035 A1 C64 1979 Reference Collection (paper copy)
Reviews 20th Century
An Index to book reviews in the humanities, 1960-1990. 31 volumes Z1035 A1 I63 Reference Collection (paper copy)