Guides: East Asian studies: Library resources on Japan

Japan

Sources for Background Information

Core and Additional Databases

Bibliography of Asian Studies, 1971-
Online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
CiNii
CiNii (Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator) enables searching of information on academic papers published in academic society journals or university research bulletins, or included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Cultural Japan This open access database discovers digital resources on Japanese Culture from all over the world. More than a million items are collected on this platform.
Hojishinbun The Hoji Shinbun Digital Collection is currently the world’s largest online archive of open-access, full image Japanese American and other overseas Japanese newspapers in Asia and South America.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (ProQuest) 1951-
Includes over two million bibliographic references to journal articles, books, reviews and chapters published since 1951. Over 2,800 journals are regularly indexed and some 7,000 books are included each year.
Japan Centre for Asian Historical Records
Materials collected here are considered useful for understanding Japan's past relationship with various neighboring Asian countries and regions, which the Japanese Government's various institutions are making available to the public from among their collections, spanning from the beginning of the Meiji era to the end of the Pacific War.
JapanKnowledge
JapanKnowledge is a portal to Japanese encyclopedias, dictionaries and other databases.
Journal of East Asian Studies
Includes such topics as democratic governance, political culture, economic cooperation, human rights, & environmental concerns in East Asia.
Asian Studies Journals on JSTOR
JSTOR is an archive of important scholarly journals. Content in JSTOR spans many disciplines, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
Kikuzō II bijuaru for libraries 聞蔵IIビジュアル for libraries
Kikuzo includes: 1) The Asahi shinbun newspaper (1879-present); 2) AERA weekly magazine (May 1988-present); 3) Shukan Asahi weekly magazine (news section only). Also includes the Historical Photo Archive, which offers historical photographs of the period between the 1930s and 1945.
Koseisha Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei 皓星社雑誌記事索引集成データベース.
Koseisha is the publisher of Meiji Taisho Showa zenki zasshi kiji sakuin shusei, a print index of Japanese periodical articles for the 1868-1948 period. The database provides online access to the author index and some table of contents of the print volumes.

Primary Sources

Nineteenth Century Collections Online Including many files such as manuscripts, maps, photos, monographs, images on Asia and the West, and cultural and diplomatic exchange.