Guides: Biomedical ethics: Find articles

Core Databases

BELIT (bioethics literature database)
Bioethics database providing access to records from the integrated German, American and French databases. Contains references to monographs, grey literature, legal documents, journal articles, newspaper articles and book contributions. Database access via ETHICSWEB or producer’s website. English or German interface available.
Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and FDocumentation Centre on Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Göttingen), the International Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tübingen), the Bioethics Research Library at Georgetown University (Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE), Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en éthique (CDE, Comité consultatif national d'éthique, Paris).
MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative interface to search MEDLINE (instead of searching PubMed)
Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Philpapers : Philosophical Research Online
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed (McGill)
Publicly available platform to search MEDLINE
Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that can be used as a bibliographic database or as a citation database
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary database that can be used as a bibliographic database (to identify article records, conference papers, and more) or as a citation database

Additional Databases

ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Resource for religious and theological studies, providing bibliographic records covering topics such as biblical studies, world religions, church history and religion in social issues. Contains over 2.9 million index records covering the research literature of religion in many languages. Bibliographic records represent scholarship on major religions, faiths, denominations and languages. Updated monthly,
Cairn
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database in the areas of nursing and allied health journals. Contains approximately 770 journals from the CINAHL index with coverage back to 1937.
Embase Classic + Embase (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Embase Classic 1947-1973.
ETHXWeb (Bioethics Research Library)
Note: This database does not seem to have been updated since 2012
Genetics and Ethics Database (GenEthx)
Note: This database does not seem to have been updated since 2011
Google Scholar
PsycINFO 1806-present (Ovid)
- This link opens in a new window
Index database for psychology. Covers the professional and academic literature in psychology and related disciplines, including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, pharmacology, physiology and linguistics.
* Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO

Liaison Librarian

Genevieve Gore

she/her

Email me

Contact:

Macdonald Stewart Library Building
809 Sherbrooke St W
Montreal QC H3A 0C1

Subjects: Biomedical ethics, Medicine, Public health

Biomedical ethics

Core Databases

Additional Databases

Liaison Librarian

Need help? Ask us!