Here is a list of artists, writers, poets, film directors, etc. of Asian heritage, who were born or have lived in Quebec. Click the name to find books, articles and films by the person.
"...born near Mangiore, India. After graduation, he taught for some years, retiring in 1944. Her has composed a number of sonnets and published some of them in 1932. He lives at Dollard des Ormeaux, Quebec."--Green Snow (1976), p.113
"...co-founder of the Montreal documentary production company EyeSteelFilm...He was President of RIDM, Montreal’s international documentary festival, and has served on the juries of the Sundance Film Festival, the International Emmy Awards, and the New Zealand Screen Awards. He frequently mentors and gives documentary storytelling seminars to up and coming filmmakers – recent workshops include Guangzhou, China; Durban, South Africa; and Yangon, Myanmar."--firstcutlab.eu
"... president of Mercury Films Inc., was born in Montréal and grew up in Victoria, British Columbia. She studied philosophy and theology at McGill University, receiving a First Class M.A. in 1994, supported by a McGill Major Fellowship and an FCAR Master’s Scholarship."--www.mercuryfilms.ca
"...writer, poet, playwright, radio producer (b at Montréal 1962). Shauna Singh Baldwin was born in Montréal, Québec, and raised in India."--The Canadian Encyclopedia
"...a graduate of McGill University’s BA program in English literature, Concordia University’s MA program in English literature and creative writing, and Mel Hoppenheim's microprogram in screenwriting and film producing."--lilychang.art
"A graduate of the Meisner acting technique from the Neighborhood Playhouse School of the Theatre in NYC and Concordia University's Mel Hoppenheim School of Cinema in Montreal, Chang's films are recognized for being humanistic stories exploring emotionally complex characters through a cinematic lens."--yungfilms.com
"A graduate in French language and literature from Shanghai University, Ying Chen initially set her sights on a career as a translator: in addition to French, she has mastered English, Japanese, Russian and Mandarin. In 1989, she settled in Montréal to pursue a graduate degree in creative writing at McGill University (1991), and her first novel, La Mémoire de l'eau was published by Leméac in 1992."--The Canadian Encyclopedia
"...a Montreal-born writer. Her work has appeared in The Globe and Mail, Hazlitt, Filmmaker, The New Inquiry, and The Guardian, among other publications. She is the author of Too Much and Not the Mood."--goodreads.com
Aisling Chin-Yee (pronounced Ash-Ling) is a director, writer, producer, and editor who grew up in Nova Scotia and is now based in Montreal. Her parents, both immigrants to Canada, hail from different islands. Her father, Mark, is Jamaican Chinese, and her mother is from Ireland, hence the Gaelic first name and complicated spelling."--reelworld.ca
"...a Chinese-Canadian filmmaker known for her socio-political documentaries. Karen’s first film In the Shadow of Gold Mountain (2004) explored the legacy of the Chinese Head Tax, Exclusion Act and redress movement. Karen’s other films include the Gemini-Nominated Seeking Refuge (2009) a film on refugees in Canada and Status Quo?"--DAMES DES VUES
"...born in Japan in 1963. He is a Québécois writer. Chung was born to Korean parents in Japan and immigrated to Canada at the age of 2. He studied French literature at McGill and Concordia universities before obtaining his doctorate at McGill. "--Asian Canadian Wiki
"...an activist over his lifetime fighting for equality and justice, including the 22-year movement to redress the Chinese Head Tax and Exclusion Act. He has published in numerous Canadian magazines and journals, including Ricepaper Magazine, Toronto.com and CBC.ca. He co-directed the documentary Être Chinois au Québec (2013) and co-directed and wrote Moving the Mountain (1993) and Gens du Pays: The Chinese of Québec (1993). His works reflect the history, life and struggles of the Chinese Canadian community in Canada and Québec. He is the winner of the 2020 Blue Metropolis / Conseil des arts de Montréal Literary Diversity Prize."--Salon du livre de Montréal
"...a mother, sister, daughter, wife, lover, friend; as well as an educator, professor, poet, essayist, prose writer, mentor. But Rishma rejected labels..."--eulogy by Priscila Uppal.
"...a popular early Asian North American author, journalist, screenwriter and playwright whose best known works were published under the pen-name “Onoto Watanna,”..."--The Winnifred Eaton Archive
"...a Montreal, Quebec, Canada-based documentary film director with the Canadian production company EyeSteelFilm and previously a producer/journalist at China's state broadcaster CCTV."--Wikipedia
"... born in Montreal in 1979 to Egyptian-Lebanese parents. He published a book of poems, Quelque chose se détache du port, which shortlisted for the Prix Émile-Nelligan. He has also published the novels Matamore no 29 and Pourquoi Bologne, a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award. He is assistant professor at McGill University, where he teaches contemporary French literature."--Quebec Writers’ Federation Literary Database
"Veena Gokhale, an immigrant shape shifter, started her career as a journalist in Bombay. This "tough, tantalizing" city inspired Bombay Wali and other stories, published by Guernica Editions in 2013. Veena first came to Canada on a journalism fellowship and then returned to do a Masters in Environmental Studies...Having lived in five Indian and three Canadian cities, she now calls Montreal home."--
"...born in China. He is a Canada-trained experimental and documentary filmmaker. His works have been screened at International Film Festival Rotterdam, Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival and other festivals. He currently lives and works between China and Montreal. Gu was a radio host in China for many years."--The Performing Garage
"...a film director, writer and producer. She is the first producer and director of Chinese immigration to obtain government grants in Canada and Quebec for the production of a feature film."--Red Dawn Productions
"...born in Singapore, but moved to Canada when I was 17. I studied Architecture at McGill University, and settled into life in Montreal, where I lived for over twenty years before finally relocating to Calgary."--ricordius.wordpress.com (author's blog)
"Eric Yick Keung San[1] (born December 5, 1974), better known by his stage name Kid Koala, is a Canadian scratch DJ, music producer, theatre producer, film composer, multimedia-performer and visual artist."--Wikipedia
"I’m a documentary filmmaker and the author of short stories, young adult novels and children’s picture books. My stories explore the Chinese-Canadian community, family relationships and the Chinese culture."--dayslee.ca
"...a Vietnamese Canadian film director and screenwriter.[1] He is most noted for his 2009 short film Land of Men (Terre des hommes), which won the award for Best Canadian Short Film at the 2009 CFC Worldwide Short Film Festival[2] and was a Genie Award nominee for Best Live Action Short Drama at the 30th Genie Awards in 2010"--Wikipedia
"...a Writer-Director born in Taiwan, bred in Montreal and currently based in Toronto. Her first feature film FLOAT will be released by Lionsgate in "--sherrenlee.com
"...writer and director of award-winning feature NFB docudrama Desperately Seeking Helen, The Incredible Shrinking Woman, the German–Canadian The Tourist and the suburban drama House for Sale."--eishamarjara.com
"...a Kurdish filmmaker born in Turkey, living in Montreal, Canada. In Grand Rapids, Michigan, he directed The Box of Lanzo (2006), a documentary about homeless poeple in the US."--DAFilms
"...grew up in India and Britain. She was educated in India (BA, University of Calcutta, 1959; MA, University of Baroda, 1961) and the US (MFA 1963, PhD 1969, University of Iowa). Mukherjee emigrated from the US to Canada in 1966. She taught at a number of universities in Canada and the United States, including McGill University and the University of California, Berkeley."--The Canadian Encyclopedia
"...an Iranian-born writer who has long resided in Canada. She holds a Ph.D. in English literature from McGill University. Her novels include The Big Green House, Blue Curtains, and With Mara That Summer. She has also published collections of verse, including Legacy, and Solitude, in addition to having contributed forewords, articles and short stories to numerous journals."--Quebec Writers’ Federation Literary Database
"Her first novel, Bone and Bread, won the Quebec Writers' Federation Paragraphe Hugh MacLennan Prize for Fiction and was a national bestseller and a finalist for the 2016 Canada Reads competition..."--saleemanawaz.com
"...director, writer, producer, teacher (born 1974 in Montréal, QC). Kim Nguyen has gained international recognition for his films, which are known for their atmospheric visual style, and elements of fantasy and magic realism. He is perhaps best known for his fourth feature, Rebelle (War Witch, 2012), which received numerous honours including 10 Canadian Screen Awards, eight Jutra Awards and an Academy Award nomination for Best Foreign Language Film."--The Canadian Encyclopedia
"...a poet, food critic, and interdisciplinary artist. Born and raised in Toronto, he has lived in Montreal and Paris, France, and traveled extensively in Europe and more recently Japan. His literary works include AQUEDUCT: poems and texts from Europe, and co-editing Paper Doors (1981), an anthology of Japanese Canadian poetry, with David Aylward, an important text in bringing Asian Canadian writers to the notice of academics and the general Canadian public."--Japanese Canadian Artists Directory
"...a Canadian novelist and translator. She moved to Canada in 1981, living in Vancouver and Toronto. Since 1991 she has lived in Montreal, where she teaches Japanese and publishes her novels in French. Her second novel, Hamaguri, won the Prix Ringuet in 2000."--goodreads.com
"...a Filipino author, journalist, civil society advocate, and professor at New York University Abu Dhabi. His debut novel, Ilustrado, was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year and won both the Man Asian Literary Prize and the Grand Prize at the Palanca Awards, his country’s top literary honor. His latest novel, I Was the President's Mistress!!, was published recently, in April 2022, by Farrar, Straus & Giroux and Penguin Random House Canada."--syjuco.com
"...a writer and teacher. She is the author of multiple poetry collections, including Peeling Rambutan (Gaspereau Press, 2014), Redrafting Winter (BuschekBooks, 2015), Panicle (ECW Press, 2017), and Quiet Night Think (ECW Press, 2022), which were all finalists for the QWF's A.M. Klein Prize for Poetry."--gilliansze.com
"...Associate Professor of Surgery (Urology) at McGill University and a senior urologist at Royal Victoria Hospital in Montreal. In addition to publishing in scientific journals, he has contributed articles in Geriatrics, Diagnosis, and The Canadian Doctor."--About the Author, Private Parts: An Owner's Guide to the Male Anatomy
"...born in Istanbul, Turkey in 1956. She has a Ph.D. in cultural anthropology from McGill University. Yeshim lived in Montreal, Canada between 1980 and 2000. She has published 2 short story collections: Orphaned by Halley’s Comet and True Romance with a Sailor; a book of historical non-fiction, Rembrandt’s Model."--eventsMarion.com
"... a writer, performance artist, social worker, fierce trans femme and notorious liar who loves lipstick and superhero cartoons. A prolific essayist and poet, her work appears online in publications including BuzzFeed, xoJane, Everyday Feminism, and Autostraddle; and in print in Asian American Literary Review, Plenitude, and Matrix Magazine, among others."--goodreads.com
"...born in Vietnam in 1968. At the age of 10 she left Vietnam along with a wave of refugees commonly referred to in the media as “the boat people” and settled with her family in Quebec, Canada...has received many awards, including the Governor General’s Literary Award in 2010, and was one of the top 4 finalists of the Alternative Nobel Prize in 2018."--en.kimthuy.ca
"...lives in Montreal, and grew up in Vancouver. She is the author of the story collection Simple Recipes (2001), and three novels, Certainty (2006); Dogs at the Perimeter (2011), shortlisted for Berlin’s International Literature Prize and winner of the Frankfurt Book Fair’s 2015 Liberaturpreis; and Do Not Say We Have Nothing (2016), shortlisted for the Booker Prize, the Women’s Prize for Fiction, the Folio Prize, and italy’s Premio Bottari Lattes Grinzane, and awarded the 2016 Governor-General’s Literary Award among other honours."--madeleinethien.com
"Born to Cambodian parents in a refugee camp in Thailand, Tom came to Canada with his family in childhood. He studied communications and media at the Université du Québec à Montréal, and animation at Concordia University, and created the short films "Que je vive en paix" in 2011 and Un pays de silences in 2013."--Wikipedia
Search also under Sully, 1975-
"...a Montreal-based poet and painter. He has exhibited widely and works as a medical illustrator for McGill University. He is the author of Pedigree Girls (comic strips) and Gentle Fictions (poetry), both from Insomniac."--Coach House Books
"...a playwright and artistic director of Teesri Duniya Theatre, which he co-founded in 1981. In 1998, he co-founded theatre magazine alt.theatre: cultural diversity and the stage. He writes both in Hindi and English, a language he acquired as an adult...He is a recipient of Quebec Drama Federation, Montreal English Critic’s Circle, and South Asian Theatre Festival Awards."--COHDS, Concordia University
"...spent her childhood in Saigon during the height of the Vietnam War. She left her native country at the age of 11, moving first to the US, then to Canada. Her childhood memory of war torn Vietnam have inspired her 3 novels: That Summer in Provincetown, Catinat Boulevard and Palawan Story—winner of the 2016 Fred Kerner Prize."--carolinevu.ca
"...born in Hanoi, but educated in Montreal and France with a BA in Philosophy and Literature. She is the author of the book, The Evergreen Country: A Memoir of Vietnam."--Vancouver Observer (2010/04/27)
"...holds a PhD in biophysics from McGill University. She has several peer-reviewed papers under her name and has given a dozen scientific and public outreach talks. Also a classically trained pianist, she has won numerous music competitions and soloed with prestigious chamber and symphony orchestras. She was born in Guangzhou, China, and moved to Montreal, Canada, with her parents as a child. Dear Haider is Lili’s first novel."--goodreads.com
"...born in Shanghai. He received a Masters degree from the Beijing Central Institute of Fine Arts, and his paintings have been exhibited in galleries around the world. After teaching at the Central Institute for several years, he visited Montreal, Canada, and decided to settle there with his wife and two sons to pursue his painting full time. His works on canvas have been regularly exhibited in eastern Canada, notably at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts."--Penguin Random House
"...née en Chine en 1935. Jusqu’à la fin de ses études secondaires, elle a étudié dans un couvent, à Pékin, ville où elle obtiendra un baccalauréat en administration. Durant les années cinquante, elle a travaillé deux ans à Berlin au sein de la délégation commerciale chinoise. Mme Zhang a été traductrice et interprète pour une société commerciale d’import-export, professeure d’anglais à l’université et journaliste pour la revue China Reconstrucs, à Pékin. Elle a immigré au Canada en 1985 pour étudier le journalisme à Halifax. Un an plus tard, elle s’est établie à Montréal et a été engagée par la firme SNC-Lavalin. Elle y travaillera jusqu’à sa retraite, en 2002."--Les Éditions Québec-Livres
"...a Chinese Canadian writer and chair of the Chinese Writers’ Association in Québec, Canada (CWAQ). He immigrated to Canada in 1988. He has published a bilingual book of poetry and has edited several literary works by Chinese Writers in Canada."--PoetrySky
East Asian Studies & Political Science Liaison Librarian
