Guides: LLCU 603 Visual Culture: Home

As of Monday, January 24, all Library branches, including stack areas, will be accessible to current McGill students, faculty, and staff. In-person reference and circulation services will resume across branches. As a result of this reopening, the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service, Pickup Service and Study Hubs will be discontinued. More information available here.

Search for books and films

Browse the shelves

Visit the HSSL Self-service Reserves Room on the main floor of the Humanities and Social Sciences Library for our DVD collection. You can also browse our virtual shelves by visiting the following databases:

Kanopy
- This link opens in a new window
Video streaming platform with documentary and art-film content aimed at universities and libraries.
Criterion On Demand
- This link opens in a new window
Educationally-relevant feature films from major companies and smaller independent producers geared to Canadian higher education institutions. Access to classics, new releases, foreign films, literary adaptations, documentaries, animated titles, and independent features.
VPN may be required for off-campus access. Unlimited simultaneous users.
Academic Video Online (Alexander Street)
- This link opens in a new window
Video platform with more than 62,000 titles spanning a range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, and music.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Films on Demand
- This link opens in a new window
Access to documentaries, educational films and instructional videos.
Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find reference materials

Reference materials provide background information on any given topics. They comprise dictionaries, encyclopedias handbooks, biographies, bibliographies, etc.

Oxford Reference
- This link opens in a new window
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Gale Ebooks
- This link opens in a new window

Find Articles

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
International Index to Film Periodicals from the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) offers in-depth indexed coverage of academic and popular film journals. Also contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of resources, including full-text film and television journals, international periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, conference papers and much more.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly IIPA - International Index to the Performing Arts.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. It covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Coverage: 1864 - current
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Film Index International (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Films from over 170 countries have been indexed with coverage from 1900 to present. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language,literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, college-level teaching of language/literature/rhetoric and composition, and history of printing and publishing.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse.
Cairn
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of publications in the French language available online in full text in the disciplines of economics, law, history and geography, literature and linguistics, psychology, education, political science, sociology, and sport.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
Soviet Cinema Online : Periodicals and Newspapers, 1918-1942
- This link opens in a new window
The collection includes Soviet film magazines and newspapers from the 1920s and 1930s, reflecting the most interesting and fertile period in the history of Russian Film.

Find Reviews

Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
News articles from over 32,000 top news sources from around the world.
International Newsstream (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Recent news content from outside of the US and Canada. Archives back decades featuring full-text newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Eureka
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Newscan.
Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from alternative and independent presses, 1970 to current. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covers both international and interdisciplinary titles, with coverage beginning in 1991.

Librarian

Marcela Isuster

Email me

Contact:

Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9

(514) 398 - 4729

Subjects: Digital humanities, Digital scholarship, Hispanic studies, Italian language and literature, Library and information studies