Skip to main content

Middle East history

Welcome - Merhaba - أهلا وسهلا - Hoşgeldiniz - خوش آمدید ! This guide focuses on historical, archival and primary sources for the history of the Middle East. It is tailored to the courses offered by the McGill Institute of Islamic Studies.

Microfiches & microfilms

Church Missionary Society archive Section IX, Middle East missions. Marlborough, Wiltshire: Adam Matthew Publications, 2009. This microform 14 reel set is a copy of papers of the Church Missionary Society held at the CMS Headquarters in London and the University of Birmingham Library. BV2500 A2 C8456 2009 Micro film - Humanities and Social Sciences Library

Palestine: The British Mandate: a Collection of Sources from 1917-1940, published on Microfiche. Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation Co, 1990. This collection covers the principal Memoranda, Statements and Reports published during the time of the British Mandate, from the Balfour Declaration in 1917 until the end of the Mandate in 1948. The collection includes the White Papers and Reports relating to the Official Commissions sent to Palestine. Sources relating to the general social, demographic and economic development of Palestine have also been included. KMQ 1044.9 P35 1986 Micro fiche – Nahum Gelber Law Library

Palestine, the Legal Background: a Collection of Sources published on Microfiche from the Collection of Law in the Service of Man, Ramallah. Zug, Switzerland: Inter Documentation, 1984. Includes: Ottoman Laws, Laws issued in Palestine by the Mandate Authorities, Jordanian Laws and Military Orders and Israeli Laws and Decrees. KMQ 1044.9 P354 1984 Micro fiche – Nahum Gelber Law Library

Center for Research Libraries

CRL’s collection for Middle Eastern studies material includes significant runs of newspapers from every country, dissertations on the Arab World and Islam, monographs and serials, and archival and microform sets of primary source content. CRL is continually acquiring current newspapers as well as historical backfiles from the region.

CRL also supports the Middle East Materials Project in its preservation and digital activities (see the related MEMP collection guide for additional resources of interest).

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice