Skip to main content
NOT all images on the web are FREE! Read this important information on image copyright.
- Art Museum Image Gallery (EBSCO)
Art images and related multimedia from the collections of distinguished museums around the world (e.g. Louvre, Prado, Hermitage, British Museum, etc.); can be searched alone or in conjunction with other EBSCO journal indexes.
This digital library features an easy-to-use interface enabling students, faculty, and instructors to select from a wealth of digital images. The charter collection includes over 300,000 representations of architecture, painting, sculpture,and photography from many major museums, including The Metropolitan Museum of Art, The Museum of Fine Arts, Boston and George Eastman House, to name a few.
- Bridgeman Art Library archive: collection of art masterpieces of all varieties, historical, European, Asian, American, and more.
- Getty Search Gateway
The Getty has made available over 4,600 high-resolution images of the Museum’s collection free to use, modify, and publish for any purpose. These images are in the public domain.
- Metropolitan Museum of Art
- Met Collection: more than 400,000 images from the Met's collection. Filter search to "public domain artworks" to download and use freely images with no copyright restrictions.
- Timeline of Art History: a chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Met's collection. Provides theme specific searches, as well as general browsing.
- Oxford Art Online
The access point for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference resources. May limit to images only.
- Réunion des musées nationaux
A collection of images from the national and regional museums of France, including the Louvre, Orsay, Pompidou and the Picasso Museum.
- American Memory at the Library of Congress
Provides free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. Includes section of materials on architecture and landscape.
- ArtNet Gallery
Based in Switzerland, this online art gallery displays the works of current artists. Space on the site is purchased by artists and their work then is displayed along with information on medium, dimensions, price, and the names of individual works. No search platform is provided, although the collection is fairly small and, therefore, easy to browse by artwork type and artist name.
- Art Images for College Teachers
A non-profit project of the author Allan T. Kohl, art historian and visual resources curator. AICT is intended primarily to disseminate images of art and architectural works in the public domain on a free-access, free-use basis to all levels of the educational community, as well as to the public. Emphasis is on ancient, medieval, and Renaissance European art and architecture but also includes examples of post-Renaissance and "non-Western" works.
- Art Resource
The world’s largest photo archive of fine art, offers a range of material from prehistoric times to the present. Art Resource carries the works of almost every major museum in Europe, and functions as the official rights and permissions representative for many institutions in the United States and abroad. These are not free images, but watermarked thumbnails are available.
- The Beazley Archive
This database is the largest single collection of images (over 27,000)from Greek vases, and is excellently indexed, not only by painter, vase shape, location, etc. but by subject. A good place to find images from both classical myths and from everyday life, with full scholarly apparatus.
- Bibliothèque et archives nationales du Québec
Over 7000 photographs and illustrations of Quebec between 1870 —1907, drawn from 3 Quebec periodicals published at the time: L'Opinion publique, Le Monde illustré et L'Album universel.
- Centre for Contemporary Canadian Art
A reference database including information and profiles of more than 700 Canadian visual and media artists, graphic designers, and writers. Searchable by title of art work.
- "Cybermuse" at the National Gallery of Canada
Over 10,000 images of works of the Gallery's permanent collection, video and audio recordings of world renowned artists, showcases of special exhibits, and virtual tours. Browse the artist index or search the site by keyword, artist name, or title of artwork.
- Index of Christian Art Database
A database providing partial but growing access to bibliographic records in the Index of Christian Art, an active project which started in 1917 at Princeton University with the aim of producing a thematic/iconographic index of art objects from the Early Christian and Medieval periods.
- Web Gallery of Art
"The Web Gallery of Art is a virtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1100-1800), currently containing over 12,400 reproductions".
Access to the California State University IMAGE project. Global in coverage; images may be used freely for non-profit educational purposes.