Skip to main content
Journals & Databases
To find a specific journal or article for which you have the title of the journal, see our Find Journals guide.
These databases are the best places to start when searching for articles on Human Geography topics:
- GEOBASE - Multidisciplinary database containing research on the earth sciences, ecology, geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management, and nature conservation.
- PAIS International - Covers global public policy, social issues, demography, environmental studies, general social sciences.
- Scopus - A major multidisciplinary database that includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts. Includes the contents of GEOBASE.
- Web of Science - A major multidisciplinary database for the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, as well as the Sciences. Includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.
- Africa-Wide Information - Multidisciplinary database covering all aspects of Africa and African Studies.
- CAB Abstracts - Covers agriculture, forestry, health, natural resources management, and tourism.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database - Multidisciplinary, comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences.
- Google Scholar - Searches scholarly literature across disciplines and sources and includes some grey literature. Search commands differ from those in academic databases, so use the Google search tips here: google_tips_handout.pdf.
- GreenFILE - Focuses on human impact on the environment. Topics covered include green issues, global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
- GREENR - Devoted to the study of sustainability and the environment and provides access to academic articles, news articles, background information, video, primary source documents and statistics.
- OECD iLibrary - Online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. OECD publications cover economic, environmental, and social issues including trade, education, labour, social policy, health, finance, development, energy, sustainability, and science and innovation.
- MEDLINE (1996- ) (or search via PubMed) - Journal article database of the National Library of Medicine in the U.S. Some coverage of health-related topics in Geography such as global health, social determinants of health, and climate change issues.
- Social Sciences Full Text - Coverage of both applied and theoretical aspects of the Social Sciences, including Economics, Environmental Studies, Gender Studies, Geography, Planning & Public Administration, Policy Sciences, Political Science, Sociology, and Urban Studies.
- Urban Studies Abstracts - Covers areas essential to urban studies, including city planning, urban affairs, community development, transportation, and urban design.
- UN iLibrary - "Comprehensive global search, discovery, and viewing source for digital content created by the United Nations." Among topics covered are economic and social development, economic and climate change, human settlements and urban issues, population and demography, and public health.