Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Searching the Library Catalogue
For more resources in Environmental Assessment consult the library catalogue using either a basic keyword search or advanced keyword search. For search tips, consult the Catalogue Help page.
You can also search the library catalogue by subject. The following is a list of example subject headings used in the catalogue:
Environmental impact analysis
You can also browse the catalogue or the shelves at the following call numbers:
GE220: Environmental justice
HC79.E5: Environmental policy
K3581-K3598: Environmental law
TD 169-171.8: Environmental protection
TD 194.6: Environmental impact analysis
Ebooks are also listed in the Library Catalogue and can be easily located using the eBooks sub-catalogue.
Allows access to full text to handbooks, references, and monographs published by CRC Press. Can search content or browse the Environmental Science category.
Provides detailed and exhaustive coverage of chapters of books in the agricultural, biological and environmental sciences. Includes journals as well, but searches can be refined to books only. McGill subscriptions are indicated by a bright green square box.
- SpringerLink Books
Provides online access to chapters from over 15,500 book titles covering life and environmental science. McGill subscriptions are indicated by a bright green square box.
A large, multi-disciplinary database indexing articles in both the sciences and social sciences. The database offers broad international coverage as well as sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
- Web of Science: 1900 to the present
A large, multi-disciplinary database providing current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Cited reference searching allows users to track references, forward and backward, through the literature.
- CAB Abstracts: 1973 to the present
A bibliographic database compiled by CAB INTERNATIONAL. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, and the management and conservation of natural resources.
- Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management Database: 1967 to present
This multidisciplinary database provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences. Covers agricultural and environmental biotechnology, aquatic pollution, bacteriology, ecology, energy resources, environmental impact statements (U.S.), hazardous waste, microbiology related to industrial and environmental issues, pollution, risk assessment, toxicology, water pollution and resource issues, waste management.
- GEOBASE: 1980 to the present
A multidisciplinary database with international coverage supplying bibliographic information and abstracts for human geography, development studies, and the earth sciences.
The Library also subscribes to a number of subject-specific databases which may be of interest for certain projects, such as Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Transport, Water Resources Abstracts, and Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide.
Many government bodies and non-governmental organizations make their publications freely available online through the organization's website. However, some documents, particularly NGO publications, are only accessible through subscription-based databases.
AccessUN: 1946 to present
Indexes current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications, including masthead documents, official records, sales publications, limited and restricted documents, documents emanating from sessional and standing committees, functional commissions, conferences and regional bodies.
World Bank e-Library: 1970 to present
A subscription-based collection of World Bank publications, including titles that were also issued in print. Organized by regional collections. Searches can be limited to thematic or regional collections.
OECD iLibrary: 1981 to present
OECD’s Online Library contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD and its affiliated bodies since 1998, and many published before then, including journals, working papers, e-books, and statistical tables and graphs. Searches can be limited by theme and/or country.
Canadian Environmental Assessment Registry: 1995 to present - freely accessible online
Contains information about projects undergoing environmental assessment under the Canadian Environmental Assessment Act. Information on an EA is archived six months after the posting of the notice of decision or the results of the follow-up program, if applicable. Archived information can be accessed via the Canadian Environmental Assessment Archives.
Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency
Ministère du développement durable, de l’environnement et des parcs du Québec
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
United Nations Environmental Program
International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources
FAO Natural Resources Management and Environment Department