Skip to main content

Computer Science: Home

Computer Science

Core databases for Computer science

  • ACM Digital Library
    Full text source for journals, conference proceedings, special interest groups and upcoming conferences of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and other affiliated organizations.
  • IEEE Xplore
    Full text of IEEE/IEE journals, conferences, standards, and books.
  • INSPEC
    Indexes over 4000 journals, 2000 conference proceedings as well as books, reports and dissertations.
  • MathSciNet
    Provides access to Mathematical Reviews and  current mathematical publications.

Multidisciplinary databases

  • Scopus
    Index database providing references to journal articles and conference proceedings and allowing citation tracking
  • Web of Science
    Index database providing references to journal articles and conference proceedings and allowing citation tracking

Open access resources

  • CiteSeerX
    Open access search engine focuses on computer science.
  • arXiv.org e-Print archive
    Open e-print archive with articles in physics, mathematics, computer science, and statistics.
  • Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
    Online directory of open access peer-reviewed journals that allows searching and browsing by subject

Additional databases for Computer science


COLOMBO (interlibrary loan)
All McGill students and staff may order books, articles and conference papers not available at McGill using COLOMBO. You may also suggest a purchase for the Library.

Sources for background information

If you are not sure what your topic is all about, look it up in a dictionary or encyclopedia. Start with:

Search the Library's Catalogue: WorldCat Catalogue for more books

  
 

You can search using words like - computer, computing, program?, model?, simulation etc.

Search tips:

Truncation symbol: ? e.g. model? will retrieve catalogue records containing the words model, models, modelling, modeling, etc.
Phrase searching: "___" e.g. "artificial intelligence" will retrieve catalogue records containing the phrase artificial intelligence
Boolean operators: (), AND, OR, NOT
default: AND
e.g. conceptual AND (modelling OR simulation) will retrieve catalogue records containing the word conceptual AND either modelling OR simulation

 

You can also browse the shelves within the following call number range:

QA75 - QA76.95 Computer Science

A good number of books on computer science are available as e-books and can be accessed on the following platforms:

  • Books24x7
    A collection of e-books from different publishers.
  • IEEE Explore
    E-books from IEEE and its partner publishers.
  • IET Digital Library
    Provides science, engineering, and technology e-books published by IET. McGill subscribed content is indicated with a purple lock.
  • Safari Books Online
    A collection of e-books from different publishers, including O'Reilly.
  • Science Direct
    Provides e-books published by Elsevier. McGill subscriptions are indicated with a green box. Browse books in the field of computer science
  • SIAM E-books
    E-books published by Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.
  • SpringerLink
    E-books published by Springer, including Lecture Notes in Computer Science, a key collection for computer science students and faculty.
  • Synthesis
    E-books available from Morgan & Claypool on electrical engineering, computer technology, and information science, including Synthesis Lectures on Computer Science.
  • Wiley Online Library
    E-books published by Wiley and its partner publishers, including computer science and other subjects.
  • World Scientific
    Complete e-book collection published in 2013 by World Scientific and titles in selected subjects published between 2005 and 2012.

Visit more e-book platforms on the E-book packages (physical sciences and engineering topics)

 

Technical reports​

 

Dissertations and theses

 


LaTeX is a free document preparation system widely used in scientific writing for its advanced typesetting abilities with mathematical formulas, foreign characters, referencing and page layout.​

 

Citation management tools

Citation management software helps keep your references and full text articles organized in electronic format, and generates in-text citations and the reference list in your paper.

 

Style manuals

Many publishers require authors to prepare their manuscript using their selected style manuals. The following manuals are most frequently used by journals in electrical and computer engineering.

 


Books on writing research papers

 

Books for non-native English speakers

 

Writing Support 

The McGill Writing Centre offers a variety of services in support of your writing, including coursesworkshops(Graphos), tutorials, and so on. 

Handy library services for your research:

Loading

Librarian

Jennifer Zhao's picture
Jennifer Zhao
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering
514-398-1273
Website / Blog Page

Questions?

Ask us!

Librarians are here to answer your questions and help you find what you are looking for.

Chat •  Email • Text • Phone

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice