Skip to main content

CIVE 432 – Technical Paper

Research databases

Core databases

  • Compendex
    Covers all aspects of engineering

Additional databases

  • Web of Science
    Covers all disciplines. Offers citation searching
  • Scopus
    Covers all disciplines. Offers citation searching
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
    Covers environmental engineering, energy resources, waste management, and water resource issues
  • Applied Science & Technology Full Text
    Covers scientific and technical publications. Intended for undergraduate students.
  • Transport
    Covers transportation research information on all surface transportation modes, air transport, and highway safety
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
    Covers technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, and energy production. Contents are included in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database
  • Water Resources Abstracts
    Covers the world's literature of water-related topics including the characters, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use, and management of water resources. Contents are included in Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management database

Most of the Library's licensed electronic resources, such as databases, full-text online journals and ebooks, are restricted to McGill students and staff. Find out about accessing the Library's online resources from on and off campus.

Use research databases to find journal articles and conference papers on your topic. For example:

  • Search Compendex.
  • Search for: biodiesel fuel AND energy source
  • Find the article by Tsai, Lin, and Yeh:
    • "An analysis of biodiesel fuel from waste edible oil in Taiwan" Renewable and Sustainable Energy Reviews, vol. 11 no. 5, 2008, pp. 838-857.
  • Click on "Detailed"; read the abstract. [Clicking on the Main heading, Controlled terms, and Uncontrolled terms links will give you more articles about those subjects.]
  • Click on the red McGill "Find Full Text" or the green "Full-text" link to search for the article online.
  • If you are not offered an article full-text through a research database, then search the catalogue. If the library does not subscribe to the journal, then get it on Interlibrary Loan (ILL). There are no charges for ILL; McGill Library subsidizes this service.

            Do not wait until it is too late for us to help you with ILL.

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice