Skip to main content

Physical and Occupational Therapy

Core databases

Need help choosing which database to search? This table shows you the differences between the four core databases in rehabilitation sciences. It is recommended that you start with Medline/PubMed and CINAHL before moving on to more specialized databases.

Need help searching the databases? Start with this introduction to searching with subject headings and keywords.

Database Subject coverage Publication types included Dates covered
MEDLINE/PubMed Largest biomedical database essential for health care research Journal articles, editorials 1946 to present
CINAHL Extensive coverage of nursing and allied health, including PT and OT journals not covered by MEDLINE Journal articles, editorials, trade magazines 1937 to present
EMBASE European coverage in biomedicine, rehabilitation, pharmacology Journal articles, editorials, conferences 1947 to present
PsycInfo Excellent resource for research on psychological, social, behavioural and mental health questions Journal articles, books, book chapters 1806 to present

Additional databases

You might find these additional databases useful for your research.

Other online resources

Below are specialized resources that you may find useful. They are all freely accessible, so you will have access to them after you graduate. They will only provide abstract information; in order to find the full text of an article, you will have to use the library catalogue

Tests and measures

Please visit our guide on finding tests and measures for more information.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice