Skip to main content

Hispanic Literary Studies: Find Articles

Databases and websites relevant for the research in Hispanics literature

Core Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography
    A subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It covers also dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), dates back to 1925 and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers
  • Literature Online(LION)
    Combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Includes: ABELL, MLA International Bibliography, New Essays on the American Novel, Cambridge Companions to Literature, Biographies, Bibliographies, and more
  • Literature Resource Center
    up-to-date biographical information, overviews, full-text literary criticism and reviews on more than 130,000 writers in all disciplines, from all time periods and from around the world. Includes Gale Literary Index

Additional Databases

  • Project MUSE
    Complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from 120 publishers, and more than 28,000 books from the 110 publishers in the University Press Content Consortium
  • PRISMA
    Reference resource providing 165 full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Offers subject headings for key titles indexed in the Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI), a database produced by the Latin American Center of the University of California, Los Angeles. Spanish, Portuguese, and English language content
  • Francis
    Multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences. Abstracts and index terms in English and French
  • Humanities FT and Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective 
    Both sources combined include a large number of academic journals in the humanities with the full text of articles from over 300 periodicals dating back to 1995, and high-quality indexing for almost 700 journals—of which 470 are peer-reviewed—dating as far back as 1984. The database provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more. Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective, covers 1907-1984
  • Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
    Base de datos de texto completo del conjunto de las obras dramáticas fundamentales de los siglos XVI y XVII. 800 piezas escritas por dieciséis dramaturgos
  • The life and times of Jorge Luis Borges
    Database of the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundación San Telmo. includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents

Legend

      

Tips for using Google Scholar

To connect Google Scholar to the McGill Libraries:

1. Click on Settings

2.  Click on Library Links

3. Search for McGill

4. Click the box that says “McGill University Library – McGill Library Full Text”

5. Click on Save

To connect Google Scholar to EndNote:

1. Click on Settings

2. Scroll down 

3. Under Bibliography Manager choose "EndNote" from the drop down menu

4. Click on Save

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice