Skip to main content

Science Literacy Week @ McGill: 2015 Tour series

Events happening across campus during science literacy week

Osler Library of the History of Medicine

Tour of the Osler Library of the History of Medicine

September 24, 2015, 3-4 pm

Location: McIntyre Medical Building, 3rd floor

Take a tour of the Osler Library of the History of Medicine during Science Literacy Week at McGill.

The Osler Library  houses a collection of rare medical and scientific books donated by Sir William Osler (1849-1919), famous physician and McGill graduate and professor. Considered the finest of its kind in Canada, the collection initially comprised 8,000 items, but has since grown to around 100,000 works, including current books and periodicals in addition to its historic, rare materials in the history of the health sciences.

McGill Library Digitization Lab

McGill Library Digitization Lab Open House

Friday, September 25, 2015, 1-3 pm

Location: Redpath Library Building, 2nd floor

The Digitization Lab can be accessed via the Redpath Hall entrance on the McLennan-Redpath terrace. Follow the signs to the 2nd floor

Description: Come visit the McGill Library Digitization Lab to learn about digitization and see equipment such as the automatic page turning book scanner in action. The lab will be open for two hours with multiple demonstration stations showcasing state-of-the-art scanners and imaging techniques. There will be a short introductory talk every half hour about the Library's role in digitizing Rare and Special Collections.

McGill Physics Collections

Tour of McGill Physics Collections

Tour the Rutherford Museum and McPherson Collection with Curator, Professor J. Barrette.

September 21, 2015, 11 am - 12:30 pm & September 23, 2015, 11 am - 12:30 pm

Location: Rutherford Physics Building, Room 110

McGill Physics Department houses two important science museums, the Rutherford Museum and the McPherson Collection. The Rutherford Museum contains a collection of the original apparatus used by Ernest Rutherford to investigate the newly-discovered phenomenon of radioactivity when he was Professor of Experimental Physics at McGill from 1898 till 1907. A striking feature for the visitors is that the apparatus used by Rutherford for his seminal discoveries are home-made and very simple in design and construction. This work led to the revolutionary theory of radioactive transformation for which Rutherford was awarded a Nobel Prize in 1908. A highlight of the visit is a recording of a seminar given by Rutherford in 1931.

The McPherson Collection is comprised of antique physical instruments and apparatus dating from the mid-19th century to about 1920, many of them used in teaching and scientific research at McGill. What is striking for the visitors is the beauty of many of these instruments and the craftsmanship with which they have been made. A good example of this is our collection of instruments build by the famous physicist and instrument maker Rudolph Koenig for the study of sound.

At the occasion of the Science Literacy Week we are providing two guided tours of both museums that are located in Room 110 of the Rutherford Physics Building. More information on the museums see http://www.physics.mcgill.ca/museum/

Self-guided online tours

The McGill Library Sprint is a new interactive game and self-guided tour. Choose between the Schulich Library of Science and Engineering and the Humanities and Social Sciences Library and answer some challenging questions.

Prizes include a Fitbit Flex and McGill Bookstore gift certificates.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice