Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Science Literacy Week @ McGill: Science at play!

Events happening across campus during science literacy week

Colouring pages and puzzles

We turned images from items in our Rare & Special Collections into digital jigsaw puzzles and colouring pages.

Jigsaw puzzles

Click on an image to access the puzzle:

 

 

 

 

 

 


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Colouring pages

Here are images from our Blacker-Wood Collections to download and colour:

Exhibit | Music / Math

Music / Math exhibit at the Marvin Duchow Music Library

Music Building (New) Third Floor, 527 rue Sherbrooke Ouest

Come by the Library to see the exhibit, located outside the main doors of the Library, with additional materials located just inside. On until December 22, 2022.

For centuries, music has bridged science and art. From Pythagoras's identification of musical intervals in 5th century BC to Johannes Kepler's treatise on the universal manifestations of harmonic proportions in the 17th century, music and mathematics have been closely intertwined.

Even as the study of music moved under the discipline of the arts in the 18th century, mathematical aspects of music continue to be explored in various scientific fields, from acoustics to engineering. Mathematical concepts also continue to influence the study and practice of music, through the development of experimental tunings and temperaments, scales, and musical form, as well as instrument design and concert hall architecture.

"Music / Math" showcases materials from the Music Library's collection that demonstrate these rich connections between the two disciplines, from music theory treatises to chance music.

Music / Math exhibit photo of dice in the foreground and John Cage material in the background.

Temporary exhibition

Highlights from the Science History Collections

Visit our digital exhibition on Flickr to learn what special collections can teach us about climate!

 

 

 

 

 

"Phillip Island Parrot" from John Gould's "The birds of Australia." London : Printed by R. and J.E. Taylor; Pub. by the author, [1840]-48. Blacker Wood Natural History Collection.

Raising Spirits

McGill Library Orientation Game

Here is a selection from the M is for Mathematics virtual book display. The full collection of books is available on the Redpath Book Display page.

Science Literacy Week - M is for Mathematics

Pi of life : hidden happiness of mathematics by Sunil Singh
The mathematical universe : from Pythagoras to Planck
L. A. Math: A Collection of detective stories using math to solve crime
Never split tens : a biographical novel of blackjack game theorist
Prime Suspects: a graphic novel that investigates key concepts in mathematics
Impossible? Explore these mind-boggling but true mathematical paradoxes
Wizards, Aliens, and Starships
The Perfect Shape: Spiral Stories
The Essence of Mathematics Through Elementary Problems

Wooden shelf with a drop shadow underneath. The book covers in the gallery above hover over the shelf.

Celestial tapestry : the warp and weft of art and mathematics
How to free your inner mathematician : notes on mathematics and life
Love and Math
Clash of symbols : a ride through the riches of glyphs
Math Bytes
Mathematical Elegance

Wooden shelf with a drop shadow underneath. The book covers in the gallery above hover over the shelf.

Proving it her way : Emmy Noether, a life in mathematics
The legacy of Tatjana Afanassjewa : philosophical insights from the work of an original physicist and mathematician
Nonplussed!
Foolproof, and Other Mathematical Meditations
Statistics taught through fiction
The Thrilling Adventures of Lovelace and Babbage
Introducing Mathematics
Everyday Calculus
Zombies and Calculus

Wooden shelf with a drop shadow underneath. The book covers in the gallery above hover over the shelf.

Sophie Germain : revolutionary mathematician
A Mathematical Odyssey
Emmy Noether - Mathematician Extraordinaire
Sophie's Diary
Murder on the Einstein Express and Other Stories
Pythagoras' Revenge

Wooden shelf with a drop shadow underneath. The book covers in the gallery above hover over the shelf.

Guesstimation
A Certain Ambiguity
How to Bake Pi
Numbers Rule
Guesstimation 2. 0
Health and Lifestyle
Fashion Figures : How Missy the Mathlete Made the Cut
Humble pi : when math goes wrong in the real world
Single Digits
The Math of Life and Death
Towing Icebergs, Falling Dominoes, and Other Adventures in Applied Mathematics

Wooden shelf with a drop shadow underneath. The book covers in the gallery above hover over the shelf.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice