Skip to main content

Music theory

COVID-19 CLOSURE

Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hoursFor more information about the closure, please visit our COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.

Search the McGill Library catalogue

 

Note: Not all resources can be found through the catalogue. Consult the resources on this and other guides to access additional sources.

Sources for background information

Encyclopedias

There are no encyclopedias or dictionaries dedicated solely to music theory. The two major Western classical music encyclopedias, however, have several pertinent articles.

See such articles as "Theory, theorists" and "Analysis."

Bibliographies

Form and Analysis Theory: A Bibliography
ML128 T5 P45 1998

Harmony Theory: A Bibliography
ML128 T5 P47 1997

Music Analyses: An Annotated Guide to the Literature
ML128 A7 D5 1991

Music Theory from Boethius to Zarlino
ML128 T5 B35 2007

Music Theory from Zarlino to Schenker (aka Damschroder and Williams)
ML128 T5 D27 1990
The Bible of theory bibliography

Analyses of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Music, 1940-2000
ML113 H695 2007
Also consult earlier editions and supplements of this work in the regular book shelves (5th floor) under the same basic call number.

Heinrich Schenker: An Annotated Index to His Analyses of Musical Works
ML423 S33 L4

Ancient Greek Music Theory: A catalogue raisonné of Manuscripts
ML113 I6 ser BXI (1988)

Bibliographie der musiktheoretischen Drucke des 16. Jahrhunderts
ML128 T5 D38 1962

The Theory of Music from the Carolingian Era up to 1400: Descriptive Catalogue of Manuscripts
ML113 I6 ser.B III (1961) (6 vols.)

In ML134 may be found bibliographies dedicated to specific composers (which cite, among other literature, theoretical analyses of individual works).

Browse by call number

Browse the Music Library shelves at:

ML432 Biographies of theorists
ML430-ML455 History of composition
ML3800-ML3921.8 Philosophy and physics of music
MT5.5-MT7 Music theory: instruction and study
MT50-MT55 Harmony textbooks and treatises
MT90-MT146 Analytical guides

Subject headings

Subject headings are the standardized descriptions of library documents found in the catalogue. They capture what an item is "about" regardless of the terminology or language used by an author so that all items on a particular topic may be found more easily. A search using the following words and phrases should retrieve relevant resources:

Music theory
Musical analysis
Music philosophy and aesthetics
Harmony
Harmonic analysis
Keyboard harmony
Schenkerian analysis
Music intervals and scales
Musical form
Musical meter and rhythm
composition (music)
Counterpoint
Music notation
Add time periods:
To 500
500-1400
Early works to 1800
15th century
16th century
17th century...

Location and contacts

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website
Subjects:Music

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice