Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africa-Wide Information (Ebsco)
Produced by NISC South Africa, this resource combines bibliographic databases from around the world to form a multidisciplinary aggregation of extensive coverage of all facets of Africa and African studies. Contains 3.2 million citations and abstracts dating back to the 16th century.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliographic database covering principally the areas of humanities and the social sciences on the East, Southeast, and South Asia. Abstracts published worldwide from 1971 to present.
Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH)
Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. It is the successor to the Royal Historical Society Bibliography of British and Irish History, available online from 2002 to 2009. The complete database now contains over 635,000 records, and is updated three times a year.
Gender Studies Database (EBSCO)
Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases with coverage of issues related to sexual diversity. Includes gender-engaged scholarship from 1972 to the present.
CWI : Contemporary Women's Issues (Gale)
A periodical collection supporting research on issues that influence Women's lives across the globe.
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
To access the text-mining option see JSTOR Data for Research
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present
Women and Social Movements, International is a landmark collection of primary materials. Through the writings of women activists, their personal letters and diaries, and the proceedings of conferences at which pivotal decisions were made, this collection lets you see how women’s social movements shaped much of the events and attitudes that have defined modern life.
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820
Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices. With a clear focus on bringing the voices of the colonized to the forefront, this highly-curated archive and database includes documents related to the Habsburg Empire, the Ottoman Empire, the British, French, Italian, Dutch, Russian, Japanese, and United States Empires, and settler societies in the United States, New Zealand and Australia.
Gender: Identity and Social Change (Adam Matthew)
Essential primary sources documenting the changing representations and lived experiences of gender roles and relations from the nineteenth century to the present. This expansive collection offers sources for the study of women's suffrage, the feminist movement, the men’s movement, employment, education, the body, the family, and government and politics.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions
apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Church Missionary Society Archive (Adam Matthew)
Included here are the papers of the Society for Promoting Female Education in China, India and the East, the Zenana, Bible and Medical Mission and the Indian Female Normal School and Instruction Society, and the various publication focusing on the CMS’s missionary work among women, including India’s Women and China’s Daughters (1880-1957) and the Indian Female Evangelist (1872-1956).
The International Women's Movement: The Pan Pacific/Southeast Asia Women’s Association, 1950-1985
Formerly known as the Pan Pacific Women's Association of the U.S.A., the Pan Pacific and Southeast Asia Women's Association was founded in 1930 to strengthen international understanding and friendship among the women of Asia and the Pacific and the women of the U.S.A. The group promoted cooperation among women of these regions for the study and improvement of social, economic, and cultural conditions; engaged in studies on Asian and Pacific affairs; provided hospitality to temporary residents and visitors from Pacific and Asian areas; and presented programs of educational and social interest, dealing with the customs and cultures of Asian and Pacific countries.
Women organizing transnationally : the Committee of Correspondence, 1952-1969
The records include extensive official correspondence as well as hundreds of letters to and from correspondents throughout the world documenting the work of the organization. In addition there are official records; minutes; complete files of multi-lingual publications entitled "Community Action Series" and "Meeting Community Needs;" miscellaneous publications; conferences and workshop material; oral history transcripts, 1988-89, with related biographical material and writings by individuals; and card files on individual participants, filed by country. The country files also contain published materials pertaining to the status and problems of the world's women.
Times of India
The Times of India (1838-2003) is part of the ProQuest Historical Newspapers program. The titles included under this heading are: Bombay Times and Journal of Commerce (1839-1859) The Bombay Times and Standard (1860-1861) The Times of India (1861-) . This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.