HIST 327: Age of the American Revolution: Home

Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

This database contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450 on, excluding Canada and the United States. This will be your best bet to search for articles on the Haitian and French Revolutions.

Over a thousand U.S. historical newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 states.

Periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Search across all ProQuest Historical Newspapers databases.

Full-text database containing digitized regional and local newspapers published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries. The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab

Based on the original Bibliotheca Americana bibliography of works by Joseph Sabin. this online collection contains books, pamphlets, serials and other works about the Americas, from the time of their discovery to the early 1900s. The content of this database is available for text-mining through Gale Digital Scholar Lab

Makes available all 1,450 volumes of the CO 5 series from The National Archives, UK, covering the period 1606 to 1822. CO 5 consists of the original correspondence between the British government and the governments of the American colonies, making it a uniquely rich resource for all historians of the period.
Text mining is permitted, but certain conditions apply. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Includes books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America in the 17th and 18th centuries.

Contains published and unpublished items that document the relationships among peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. The collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from all of the protagonists, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.

The subcollection Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War consists of several modules:
-Slavery, the Slave Trade, and Law and Order in the 19th Century (1636-1880)
-Slavery and the Law (1775-1867)
Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867.
-Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries (1700-1896)
-Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records (4 parts)
Southern Plantation Records document the far-reaching impact of plantations on both the American South and the nation. Plantation records are both business records and personal papers because the plantation was both the business and the home for plantation owners.

Bringing together primary source documents from archives and libraries across the Atlantic world, this resource allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.

A collection of letters and diaries written by over 1,300 women who lived in North America from the 17th to the 20th century.