HIST 436: History of European Nationalism (Topics in European History): Home

This database contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450 on, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. In the search options, select "Peer Reviewed" and enter "Historical Period" (e.g., Start Year: 1850 To End Year: 1917).

Your best bet for articles on the British Isles, British Empire, and Commonwealth for all periods of history.

An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering humanities journals, weekly magazines and newspapers published in the UK and other English speaking countries. Coverage: 1962 - current.

Searchable archive of historical newspapers from Europe, Australia, and the Americas. Coverage varies, from the mid-1800s to 2000s.
2 simultaneous users.

Full-text database containing digitized regional and local newspapers published in Britain between the mid-eighteenth and mid-twentieth centuries.

Covers the history of Western trade, encompassing the coal, iron, steel, railway, and cotton industries as well as banking and finance, and the emergence of the modern corporation. Documents the rise of the modern labor movement, the evolving status of slavery, the condition and making of the working class, colonization, the Atlantic world, Latin American/Caribbean studies, social history, gender, and the economic theories that championed and challenged capitalism in the nineteenth century.

Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials from the past 500 years for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences.

Historical legal codes, statutes, regulations, and commentaries on codes from the United Kingdom, France, Germany, and other countries in northern Europe. Included are crucial sources of historical statutes and regulations for the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland.