It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
HIST 428: History of the Book: Print Culture in Early Modern Britain: Home
Contains page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere between 1473 and 1700.
TIP: Try keyword searching in the Subject Headings (access via the Advanced Search) to find sources closely related to your topic.
Full-text searchable database including books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides published in the UK and elsewhere during the 18th century. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue and primarily in English but also includes other languages.
Works printed in Europe before 1701, regardless of language, fall within the scope of the project, as do all pre-1701 works in European languages printed elsewhere. Includes content from the Wellcome Library (London, UK) as well as other European libraries.
Includes content from the following libraries:
- The Royal Danish Library - Kongelige Bibliotek (Copenhagen, Denmark)
- The National Central Library of Florence - Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (Florence, Italy)
- The National Library of the Netherlands - Koninklijke Bibliotheek (The Hague, The Netherlands)
- The Wellcome Library - The Wellcome Library (London, United Kingdom)
- The National Library of France - Bibliothèque nationale de France (Paris, France)
The Chapbook Collection contains over 900 searchable English-language chapbooks published in England, Scotland, Ireland and the northeastern United States. They contain stories based upon medieval romance, English legends and folklore, or are abridged from popular literature for adults.
Contains newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets from the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford. Covers the period 1672-1737 and charts the history of the development of the press in England.
Contains rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, illuminating aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Topics covered include colonial life, provincial and rural affairs, the French and American revolutions, reviews of literature and fashion throughout Europe, political debates, and London coffee house gossip and discussion.
Find references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450 on, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. In the search options, select "Peer Reviewed" and enter "Historical Period" (e.g., Start Year: 1450 To End Year: 1600).