Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
America: History and Life
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from over 2,000 journals published worldwide.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database)
A longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records.
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. You can search the full range of journals, or a specific thematic subset in the "Advanced Search" such as History, History of Science and Technology, Religion, and more.
Multidisciplinary social science and humanities publications containing journals and e-book collections from Quebec University Presses including: Presses de l'Université de Montréal, Presses de l'Université Laval, Publications du CRIR. Erudit Cultural Magazines collection is not included in McGill's subscription.
Society, Culture & Politics in Canada: Canadiana Pamphlets, 1818-1929
This collection of pamphlets at McMaster University Library deal with many aspects of Canadian history, literature, social and political conditions. Included are pamphlets on religion and churches, all levels of government, elections, peace movements and war service, Communism, local communities and labor organizations to name but a few of the topics covered. From Archives Unbound.
To best use the McMaster pamphlets collection, consider first exploring the associated Finding Aid. Tip: use ctrl or command + F to keyword search.
Note: after conducting an initial search within the collection, using the new Search box will search all of Archives Unbound rather than just the pamphlet collection. To more easily limit, use the 'Filter Your Results' option at the right to limit to McMaster University.
Migration to New Worlds
This database focuses on British, European, and Asian (im)migrations, with primary sources including personal account, shipping logs, printed literature, and organizational papers.
To focus on Canadian content:
-Navigate to 'Search Directories'
-Select the 'Ports and Places' tab
-Choose Canada or a Canadian port or province
After selecting a useful document, you can save the entire document as a PDF.
North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries, and Oral Histories. (Alexander Street Press)
This collection includes letters, diaries, oral histories, interviews, and other personal narratives of over 2,000 authors providing a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.
To find Canadian content, select 'Place Discussed' under 'Browses'. Click the plus icon next to North America, then next to Canada, then select the province and city.
Pier 21 Oral Histories
Museum researchers conduct recorded interviews with immigrants, refugees, settlement workers and others who have lived experiences relating to immigration.
In the Advanced Search, select Oral History and enter keywords into the Description (internal) search box (e.g., Netherlands, Germany, Catholic). Be aware that some interviews are restricted.
LAC: Black History in Canada
In addition to a short background on Black History in Canada, this page includes a selection of primary sources available at Library and Archives Canada as well as the bibliographic information for many published sources and links to other institutions and repositories.
Concordia Centre for Oral History and Storytelling Archives
COHDS is home to an archive containing over 1500 oral history interviews. Access must be approved by the Archivist after an Access Agreement is signed. Consult the collections descriptions and email firstname.lastname@example.org to ask to access publicly accessible interviews.
Collection of multicultural Canadian newspapers documenting the earliest years of immigrant experience in Canada. Includes Croatian, Estonian, Finnish, Hungarian, Polish, Serbian, Ukrainian, Serbo-Croatian, Latvian, and Lithuanian newspapers. To find a newspaper, select 'Browse'. Note that reading knowledge of the specific language will be necessary.
For more primary source collections, see the Canadian History Guide.
Attend a Chicago Citation Style Workshop
Virtual workshop on Chicago citation style offered by McGill librarians. Click the link to find the date and time and register!
Get Started with Zotero
Zotero is a free, open-source citation management system that will make it easier for you to write and cite throughout your undergraduate education and beyond! Get started early for the most benefits.