Guides: Latin American & Caribbean History: Get Started

Get Started

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks offer generalist information that may be useful in learning more about a topic or beginning research. The links below offer resources for Latin American & Caribbean history.

General Resources

Oxford Research Encyclopedia: Latin American History
Peer-reviewed and regularly updated encyclopedia with over 600 articles on various aspects of Latin American history.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary Latin American and Caribbean Cultures by Ana M. Lopez (Editor); Daniel Balderston (Editor); Mike Gonzalez (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000
This encyclopedia offers coverage of more than 40 Latin American and Caribbean regions from 1920 to the end of the 20th century, focusing on culture such as food, sport, religion, television, transport, architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.
A Reference Guide to Latin American History by James D. Henderson, Helen Delpar, Maurice Philip Brungardt, and Richard N. Weldon
Call Number: F1410 R395 2000
Publication Date: 2000
An essential reference for comprehensive and detailed coverage of Latin American history. Available only in print.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Barbara A. Tenenbaum (Editor); Georgette M. Dorn (Editor)
Call Number: F1406 E53 1996
Publication Date: 1996
With over 5,300 entires, this wide-ranging encyclopedia focuses on Latin American history organized by country. 5 volumes, available only in print.

Liaison Librarian

Kristen Howard

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies, Religious studies

Latin American & Caribbean History

Get Started

General Resources

Liaison Librarian

Need help? Ask us!