Skip to Main Content

Medieval and Early Modern European History

Research guide for sources in medieval and early modern European history

Core Medieval and Early Modern Databases

Looking for articles on medieval or early modern topics? Try these specialized databases:

International Medieval Bibliography
Find citations to articles, essays, conference proceedings, and festschriften about all aspects of medieval life (300-1500), covering Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.

Iter: Gateway to the Middles Ages and Renaissance
Find citations to articles, books, reviews, and conference proceedings about the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Includes links to full text.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Find articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East.

Bibliographie internationale de l'humanisme et de la Renaissance (Brepols)
International reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. The IBHR is a continuation of the Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance, coordinated and published by Librairie Droz since 1965. 3 simultaneous users.

Other Relevant Databases

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450 on, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. In the search options, select "Peer Reviewed" and enter "Historical Period" (e.g., Start Year: 1450 To End Year: 1600).

Jahresberichte fur Deutsche Geschichte
Searchable digital edition of the printed Jahresberichte, a bibliography of writings (journal articles and monographs) on German history since 500 C.E. (updates ended in 2016).

DIGITENS

Digital Encyclopedia of British Sociability in the Long Eighteenth Century (DIGITENS)
Open-access digital encyclopedia with a wide range of topics related to British sociability from 1650 to 1850. Discover how the circulation of models of sociability shaped European and colonial societies.

Liaison Librarian

she/her

Email me

Subjects: Classical studies, History, Indigenous studies

Need help? Ask us!

Last Updated: Jan 6, 2025 3:35 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.mcgill.ca/medieval-early-modern-european-history
Print Page

Subjects: History, Humanities and social sciences

McGill Libraries • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice