Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Scholarly, Peer-Reviewed Articles
America: History and Life
One of the premier databases for articles on Canadian history in all areas.
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (EBSCO)
Secondary sources on the history of science and medicine.
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database)
Despite the name, this database can often be a good source for secondary sources pertaining to Canada.
Multidisciplinary social science and humanities publications containing journals and e-book collections from Quebec University Presses including: Presses de l'Université de Montréal, Presses de l'Université Laval, Publications du CRIR. Erudit Cultural Magazines collection is not included in McGill's subscription.
Primary Sources (where to find the scientific or medical Fact to analyze in your assignment)
Contains articles from medical journals. To search broadly for material on Canada, cut and paste the following into the search box along with your topic words:
(canada or “british columbia” or alberta or saskatchewan or manitoba or ontario or quebec or “new brunswick” or “nova scotia” or “prince edward island” or maritimes or newfoundland or yukon or “northwest territories” or nunavut)
You can also limit to just one or several of these depending on your focus. For example:
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
Contains records for scientific publications back to 1900. You can use similar search strategies as outlined for Pubmed, or search known scientists working in Canada, etc. For instance:
Especially strong for 19th century material published in Canada. Keep in mind, however, that much of the published output of Canadian scientists at the time might have been published outside of the country.