Skip to main content

HIST 458b The history of surgery

Article indexes - medicine

Other article databases

Newspapers and magazines

Newspapers Subject Guide 
List of online historical and contemporary newspapers and newspaper/magazine databases available at McGill.

Readers' Guide Retrospective 
Online version of The Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature, an index to U.S. popular periodicals. Contains material from 1890 to 1982.

Digitized archives of medical journals

JAMA: The Journal of the American Medical Association, 1883-present.
Major North American medical journal.

The Lancet, 1823-present.
Major British medical journal.

PubMed Central 
Contains a number of nineteenth and twentieth century medical journals  including British Medical Journal and Journal of the Royal Medical Society. Full text.

Digitized book and primary source collections

Early Canadiana Online  
Full text digital collection of book, pamphlet and serial primary sources, published up to the early 20th century, relating to Canadian literature, history, etc. Includes subcollection on history of medicine.

Gallica  
Digitized books, dictionaries and periodicals spanning many centuries, including medical and related works. This site is maintained by the National Library of France, so almost all works are in French.

Internet Archive  
Freely available digitized out-of-copyright books, journals and other material. This is a good resource for locating historical books (primary material).  This site cannot perform full-text searches across all material.  You have to open a specific book or other item and then do a full-text search only on that item.

Medical Heritage Library  
This is a subset of the Internet Archive of selected historical medical material. The difference between this site and the Internet Archive is that the MHL lets you do full text searching across all the digitized content. This is a good resource for locating historical medical information embedded into more general primary historical works.  Searching is still in beta form, so read the help file to refine your search (e.g. add a date limit).

Archival indexes

ArchiveGrid
Searchable database of archives held in thousands of collections around the world.

Archives in the Osler Library - searchable database  
The Osler Library Archives has nearly 200 collections of papers by or about doctors, medical students and organisations, including significant collections on Sir William Osler, Wilder Penfield, Maude Abbott and the Canadian Health Libraries Association.

History of Medicine Finding Aids Consortium  
This is a discovery tool providing keyword search services of descriptions of primary source (archival) materials found in special collections and archives in the U.S. and Canadian (such as the Osler Library).

Government information

Government information from Canada, Quebec, other provincial governments, the UK, the US, the European, and some intergovernmental organizations dating back centuries available at McGill. Much is available online.

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice