Skip to main content

HGEN 692

Identifying diseases

  • The Phenomizer - a software that aims to help clinicians to identify the correct differential diagnosis in the field of human genetics. The user enters the signs/symptoms of the patient encoded as terms from the Human Phenotype Ontology. The software then ranks all diseases from OMIM, Orphanet, and DECIPHER by a score that reflects how well the phenotypic profiles of the patient and the disease match to each other. The Phenomizer User Guide and this video tutorial describe how to use the tool. 

Model organisms

Arabidopsis thaliana The Arabidopsis Information Resource (TAIR) - Genetic and molecular data
Caenorhabditis elegans WormBase - information concerning the genetics, genomics and biology of C. elegans and related nematodes
Danio rerio Zebra Fish Information Network (ZFIN) - on-line database of information for zebrafish researchers
Drosophila

FlyBase - A database of Drosophila genes & genomes

FlyExpress - currently contains 100,000+ images of expression from nearly 5,000 genes and >30,000 images extracted and curated from peer-reviewed publications

Glycine max SoyBase - USDA soybean genetics database, includes molecular data regarding soybean genes and sequences
Legume species Legume Information System (LIS) - a collaborative, community resource to facilitate crop improvement by integrating genetic, genomic, and trait data across legume species
Mus musculus

Mouse Genome Database - National Institute of Genetics (Japan) database, includes a chromosome MapViewer

Mouse Genome Informatics - (MGI) international database resource for the laboratory mouse, providing integrated genetic, genomic, and biological data

Mouse Phenome Database - (MPD) enables the integration of genomic and phenomic data by providing access to primary experimental data, well-documented data collection protocols and analysis tools

Xenopus Xenbase - gives access the diverse and rich genomic, expression and functional data available from Xenopus research
Zea mays Maize Genetics and Genomics Database (MaixeGDB) - community-oriented, long-term, federally funded informatics service to researchers focused on the crop plant and model organism Zea mays

 

Even more!

Information on the following subject guides might be of interest:

 

Librarian

Andrea Miller-Nesbitt's picture
Andrea Miller-Nesbitt
Contact:
Schulich Library of Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, and Engineering (Office located in the McLennan Library Building during the Schulich closure)
514-398-1663
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice