HIST 430 History of AIDS

(HSTM) The HSTM database provides access to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of medicine and allied fields, science and technology.

NOTE: Most of the medical entries date from 1991 to 2004, so to locate earlier works on the history of medicine it is best to consult the Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Subjects (Osler Ref folio ZW 1 W447s 1980 - 18 volumes), published by the Wellcome Library, for the period 1900-1978.

This is the catalogue of the National Library of Medicine in the United States, containing records of books, book chapters (individual essays) and audiovisual material.

This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about Canadian and United States history from the earliest times. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics.

This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics.
NOTE: You can search both "America: History and Life" and "Historical Abstracts" simultaneously by selecting both in the choose databases section, the link for this is located next to the database name.

Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) MEDLINE is a major bibliographic index of journal articles covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences going back to before 1950, including some historical articles. One can limit a search to material specifically about the history of medicine.

This platform has been replaced by Nexis Uni. Content previously available on LN Academic continues to be available on Nexis Uni.

Factiva Free Text/Indexing allows you to search a collection of more than 8,000 global sources including newswires, newspapers, websites and television transcripts by searching words in the publication title, or by selecting an industry or region. Over 118 countries are profiled in this database. Results are full text and coverage is contemporary.

is an online service providing a wide range of full text information covering law, news, and business. Coverage is international but varies in depth for various countries and states. Content goes back to c.1980, but with older references as well. Many of the references are also full text.