Guides: HIST 403 History of Quebec Institutions: Article Indexes and Databases

History of Medicine and Science

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (EBSCO)

NOTE: The U.S. National Library of Medicine also offers a free version of Medline called PubMed. This offers access to all parts of MEDLINE but lacks some of the functions made available through the McGill only version.

JSTOR
JSTOR is a restrospective database containing the full text of over 500 scholarly journals going back to the first volume in a variety of fields, (although the most recent 3 to 5 years are usually not included). One can search the full range of journals, or a specific thematic subset, such as History, History of Science and Technology, Biological Sciences, Psychology and Health Policy.

There is a list of journals by subject category. Given the age of JSTOR's content, it is a useful resource for finding both primary and secondary material. Searches can be done on the full text of articles, thus uncovering otherwise elusive material.

MEDLINE (OVID) ALL, 1946-
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care.

Some articles published between 1950 and 1965 are only contained in OLDMEDLINE.

The U.S. National Library of Medicine also offers a free version of Medline called PubMed. This offers access to all parts of MEDLINE but lacks some of the functions made available through the McGill only version.

Print

Recension bibliographique: les maladies infectieuses dans les périodiques médicaux québécois du XIXe siècle
Volume One: Choléra, coqueluche, diphtérie, érysipèle, fièvre jaune, fièvre scarlatine, fièvre typhoïde, gale, grippe, lèpre, malaria, peste, pleurésie, pneumonie, rage, rougeole, tétanos, tuberculose, typhus, variole. Volume Two: Transmissibles sexuellement: blennorragie, chancre mou, syphilis; et les maladies nerveuses et mentales. Osler Reference ZWC 100 P222r folio t.1,1988, t.2. 1995.

English and French references included, often of hard to find material.
Secondary Sources in the History of Canadian Medicine: A Bibliography (2 Volumes).
Osler Reference Folio ZWZ 70 DC2 R744s 1984 and 2000. This indexes a great variety of material (such as articles, book chapters and books) from throughout the twentieth century.

General History

America: History and Life (EBSCO)
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about Canadian and United States history from the earliest times. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics. To search this you need to select "United States and Canadian History" in the drop down search options.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics. To search this you need to select "World History excluding US and Canada" in the drop down search options.

NOTE: You can search both "America: History and Life" and "Historical Abstracts" simultaneously by selecting "World History including US & Canada" from the drop down menu.

HIST 403 History of Quebec Institutions

History of Medicine and Science

Print

General History

Need help? Ask us!