This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics.
(HSTM) The HSTM database has references to journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of medicine and allied fields, science and technology.
NOTE Most of the medical entries date from 1991 to 2004, so it is best to also use additional sources if you require more references. To locate earlier works on the history of medicine it is best to consult the Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Subjects (Osler Ref folio ZW 1 W447s 1980 - 18 volumes), published by the Wellcome Library, for material published between 1900 and 1978.
Material from 1979-1991, and a great deal more, can be found in the The Wellcome Library online catalogue, which contains records for books, journals, reports, pamphlets, theses, patents and images.
This database contains over 2 million references drawn from 40 different databases. Records go back to the nineteenth century. A great variety of sources are indexes, such as journal and magazine articles, books, book chapters and others. Some full text.
Created by the African Regional Office of WHO, this database indexes books, journal articles and reports related to health and medicine in Africa. Material referenced is multilingual, with some full text. Because the material is published in Africa, you may need to order things via Interlibrary Loan.
is a major biomedical and pharmaceutical database indexing over 3,500 international journals in a number of medical fields. It's European content makes it a good complement to Medline, although there is some overlap.
Contains over 800 000 citations of articles, books, reports and conference proceedings on topics such as public health, tropical and communicable diseases, nutrition, helminthology, entomology and mycology in several languages from 1912 to 1983.
Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) MEDLINE is a major bibliographic index of journal articles covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences going back to 1950.
Anthropological Literature is the most comprehensive international resource for the fields of anthropology. It is an index to the anthropology and archaeology literature in the collections of Harvard University. The coverage is from the late 19th century to the present.