Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of medicine and allied fields, science and technology.
NOTE Most of the medical entries date from 1991 to 2004, so to locate earlier works on the history of medicine it is best to consult the Subject Catalogue of the History of Medicine and Related Subjects (Osler Ref folio ZW 1 W447s 1980 - 18 volumes), published by the Wellcome Library, for the period 1900-1978.
Material from 1979-1991, and a great deal more, can be found in the The Wellcome Library online catalogue, which contains records for books, journals, reports, pamphlets, theses, patents and images.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE is a major bibliographic index of journal articles covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the pre-clinical sciences going back to before 1950, including some historical articles. Limit a search to material specifically about the history of medicine.
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about Canadian and United States history from the earliest times. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics.
This contains references to journal articles, book reviews and some dissertations about the history of all parts of the world from 1450, EXCLUDING Canada and the United States. Its subject coverage is broad and includes medical topics.
NOTE: You can search both "America: History and Life" and "Historical Abstracts" simultaneously by selecting both in the choose databases section, the link for this is located next to the database name.
This indexes a wide range of historical material, including ancient and medieval history. Older material (published before 1984) can be found by selecting Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 in the database selection area.
This database indexes articles from 4 500 periodicals, plus essays in collections and conference proceedings. It has over 300 000 citations of material on Medieval Europe, the Middle East and North Africa. It is particulary good for finding recent material.
NOTE: there can only be three simultaneous users so you may experience delays getting on.