Skip to main content

EAST 304 Topics in Chinese Studies - Chinese Medical Tradition

Using the library

Once you've brainstormed a topic and keywords, you can begin your search in the McGill library catalogue and in relevant article databases.

McGill has one library catalogue: WorldCat

Here are some basic search tricks for the catalogue and all databases:
 
Truncation symbol: * e.g. histor? will retrieve catalogue records containing the words history, histories, historical, etc.
Phrase searching: "___" e.g. "Chinese medicine" will retrieve only catalogue records containing the phrase Chinese medicine
Boolean operators: (), AND, OR, NOT
default: AND
e.g. history AND (acupuncture OR "Chinese medicine") will retrieve catalogue records containing the word history plus either Canada OR the phrase Chinese medicine. Remember: AND will make your search narrower and OR will make your search wider.

 

History of Science, Technology and Medicine HSTM provides access to journal articles, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, and medicine, and related historical fields.

Web of Knowledge A multi-subject, general database, you can search for articles by author, source title, subject, etc. as well as limit your searching by discipline (such as history) to narrow down results. Also includes scientific articles going back to 1900 so it can be useful for primary resources.

Project Muse A full-text English-language scholarly journal database. Includes a subject list of Asian studies journals.

Bibliography of Asian Studies Contains citations on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) related to East, Southeast, and South Asia published in Western-languages from 1971 to the present. **Citation information only. You will need to look up the full-text article in a different database or the McGill Library catalogue.

Remember different journal databases contain different journals, so you should always be checking more than one.

A note on connecting to databases from home:  You have easy, at-home access to McGill's subscription resources through a tool called EZproxy. Just remember that in order to access a database you must enter it through the McGill Library webpage.

Need help? Ask us!

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice