Guides: HISP 242 Survey of Spanish Literature & Culture II: Find information about books

Sofia Discovery tool | SEARCH McGILL RESOURCES (excluding journal articles)

Find Articles

MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Scholarly publications from around the world and across a broad range of topics, including literature from any country and in any language, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), folklore, linguistics, college-level teaching of language/literature/rhetoric and composition, and history of printing and publishing.
Literature Resource Center (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Index to the major literature products published by Gale.
Literature Online (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Contains reference materials, primary sources, and literary criticism.
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Access to selected e-book content from University Presses.
To access the text-mining option see JSTOR Data for Research
Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-book and e-journals collection covering the digital humanities and social sciences since 1995.
Unlimited simultaneous users.

Find Reviews

Book Review Digest Plus (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Book reviews of a wide range of topics for more than 5,000 indexed journals.
Gale Literature: Book Review Index (Gale)
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of book reviews. Includes topic finder and publication search.
Factiva
- This link opens in a new window
News articles from over 32,000 top news sources from around the world.
International Newsstream (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Recent news content from outside of the US and Canada. Archives back decades featuring full-text newspapers, newswires, and news sites. Includes The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications.
Eureka
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly Newscan.
Alt-PressWatch (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from alternative and independent presses, 1970 to current. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Covers both international and interdisciplinary titles, with coverage beginning in 1991.

Resource key

McGill users only
Open access resource
Free resource
In-library use
Catalogue record

Tips for using Google Scholar

To connect Google Scholar to the McGill Libraries:

1. Click on Settings

2. Click on Library Links

3. Search for McGill

4. Click the box that says “McGill University Library – McGill Library Full Text”

5. Click on Save

To connect Google Scholar to EndNote:

1. Click on Settings

2. Scroll down

3. Under Bibliography Manager choose "EndNote" from the drop down menu

4. Click on Save