Guides: MRKT 451 Marketing Research: Group Project

Consumer Research

Similar to industry reports, these reports are based on a combination of primary and secondary source data.

Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (Canada, U.S.)
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use
Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Business-related statistics from a wide range of sources. (International)
Vividata
- This link opens in a new window
A source of print and digital audience data for magazines and newspapers. Vividata is the amalgamated organization of media measurement bodies NADbank and PMB.
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap)
- This link opens in a new window
Create maps and reports using Canadian demographic data. You must create an account if you want to save your work. Limited to 5 users at a time.

Statistics and Data

Statista
- This link opens in a new window
Business-related statistics from a wide range of sources. (International)
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
Statistics Canada - Statistique Canada
Statistical data for Canada from the national statistical office, including analysis, reference, geographical and census data.

Institut de la statistique du Québec
Québec government body in charge of producing, analyzing and disseminating objective and high-quality official statistical information for Québec.
Montréal en statistique
Statistics relative to Montréal. Statistics on (but not limited to) language, income, housing, tourism, transport, etc. (only available in French)

Industry Research

You can search our industry research databases for reports on industries, markets, and product segments.

The reports in these databases typically make use of secondary source data (research and data carried out by others) supplimented with primary source data (research carried out by their own company).

The following databases contain reports on wide range of industries:

IBISWorld
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and business environment profiles. (Canada, U.S.)
Mintel Academic
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (Canada, U.S.)
Passport
- This link opens in a new window
Industry/category reports, trends and demographic information for consumer-related products and services. (International)
License information can be found here: License Terms of Use
MarketLine Advantage
- This link opens in a new window
Industry reports and business environment profiles. (International)
eMarketer
- This link opens in a new window
Marketing and consumer reports for digital businesses.

Questionnaire Design

The Market Research Toolbox by Edward F. (Francis) McQuarrie
ISBN: 9781452291581
Publication Date: 2015-05-08
Understanding marketing research to make better business decisions An ideal resource for busy managers and professionals seeking to build and expand their marketing research skills, The Market Research Toolbox, Fourth Edition describes how to use market research to make strategic business decisions. This comprehensive collection of essential market research techniques, skills, and applications helps readers solve real-world business problems in a dynamic and rapidly changing business atmosphere. Based on real-world experiences, author Edward F. McQuarrie gives special attention to business-to-business markets, technology products, Big Data, and other web-enabled approaches. Readers with limited time or resources can easily translate the approaches from mass markets, simple products, and stable technologies to their own situations. Readers will master background context and the questions to ask before conducting research, as well as develop strategies for sorting through the extensive specialized material on market research.

Articles and News

You can search these databases for articles on topics related to the course, or to learn more about the industry, product, or service that you are interested in.

Articles are also valuable sources of both primary and secondary source data.

ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest) Comprehensive database of articles from key trade publications, scholarly journals, conference proceedings, market reports, etc.
- This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete Comprehensive database of articles from scholarly and trade journals, working papers, as well as market reports and industry reports.
- This link opens in a new window
CBCA (Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database) A longstanding, comprehensive Canadian periodical collection covering multiple subjects and topics, with millions of full-text records. Accessible to readers and researchers at every level, it features a diversified mix of publications, including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, reports, radio and television transcripts, news, and dissertations. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
- This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar

Can't find a report or statistic?

In cases where the specific reports, statistics, or data are not available, you will need to carry out your own research, bringing together articles or news items that provide you with information on the industry you are interested in.

A few approaches you can try:

Look for reports for a more general industry or market and extrapolate the information there to your particular case. For example, if you can't find a report on men's running shoes, look for a report on men's sportsware and/or men's footware.
Look for reports for a related or broader geographic area. If you can't find a information on the Quebec market, see if you can find data for Canada, the US, or North America.
Search for individual articles or news stories on your topic for insights and statistics. Sometimes those articles will mention specific reports or data sources that you can track down for more information. See Articles and News box above for links to the best resources to use.