This bilingual dictionary provides a reference tool for all of those who use or operate cargo ships, both tramp and liner, or who are concerned with their use. This includes ship operators, forwarding agents, chartering agents and port agents as well as importers and exporters. The principal areas covered are: voyage and time charters documentation, including bills of lading ship types and their gear; ports, their equipment and facilities cargoes and their packing geographical and weather features.
Freight transport and logistics operations have become so technically sophisticated that a whole language of generic terms, jargon, abbreviations and management buzzwords, to say nothing of legal terms and definitions, has been generated. The aim of this dictionary is to identify these terms and, in unambiguous English, provide accurate descriptions and definitions.
English-Chinese and Chinese-English Glossary of Transportation Terms: Highways and Railroads contains an extensive dictionary of more than 1,200 transportation expressions commonly used in American English. Each term is equated to its corresponding term in Simplified Chinese, and its definition is translated. This comprehensive collection of common terms is an essential reference for both English- and Chinese-speaking transportation professionals involved in business, government initiatives, working in private industry, public agencies, educational institutions, or research centers.
With over 5,000 entries, this dictionary remains unmatched in the breadth and scope of its coverage and is the primary reference for professionals working in the areas of supply chain management, transportation, distribution, logistics, material, and purchasing.
Viewing transportation through the lens of current social, economic, and policy aspects, this four-volume reference work explores the topic of transportation across multiple disciplines within the social sciences and related areas, including geography, public policy, business, and economics.
Gathering over 50 authoritative, peer-reviewed entries from the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology, Transportation Technologies for Sustainability covers a broad range of transportation-related sustainability research, from vehicle design and technology to mass transit systems. State-of-the-art chapters describe key developments in intelligent vehicle technology, including vision sensors, driver status monitoring, and vehicle motion control, while international experts present the latest research in electric, hybrid, and fuel cell vehicles.
The Handbook of Transportation Engineering offers practical, comprehensive coverage of the entire transportation engineering field. Featuring 18 new chapters and contributions from nearly 70 leading experts, this authoritative work discusses all types of transportation systems--freight, passenger, air, rail, road, marine, and pipeline--and provides problem-solving engineering, planning, and design tools and techniques with examples of successful applications.
Transportation research has been synthesized into a systematic handbook that examines the scientific concepts, methods, and principles of this growing and evolving field. The Handbook of Transportation Science outlines the field of transportation as a scientific discipline that transcends transportation technology and methods. Whether by car, truck, airplane - or by a mode of transportation that has not yet been conceived - transportation obeys fundamental properties. The science of transportation defines these properties, and demonstrates how our knowledge of one mode of transportation can be used to explain the behavior of another.
The Routledge Handbook of Transportation offers a current and comprehensive survey of transportation planning and engineering research. It provides a step-by-step introduction to research related to traffic engineering and control, transportation planning, and performance measurement and evaluation of transportation alternatives. The Handbook of Transportation demonstrates models and methods for predicting travel and freight demand, planning future transportation networks, and developing traffic control systems.
Traffic Engineering Handbook, Seventh Edition builds upon its reputation as the go-to source of essential traffic engineering solutions. A branch of civil engineering, traffic engineering concerns the safe and efficient movement of people and goods along roadways. Traffic flow, road geometry, sidewalks, crosswalks, cycle facilities, shared lane markings, traffic signs, traffic lights, and more--all of these elements must be considered when designing public and private sector transportation solutions. Explore the fundamental concepts of traffic engineering as they relate to operation, design, and management. This is an essential text for public and private sector transportation practitioners, transportation decision makers, public officials, and upper-level undergraduate and graduate students who are studying transportation engineering.