Couple and Family Therapy

Core databases

• PsycInfo Covers behavioural sciences and mental health literature. Indexes over 2,500 journals. Additional materials include books, dissertations and secondary publications.
  • Quick reference guide - How to search PsycINFO
  • Brief video on PsycINFO (15 min)
  • Sign up for free live training webinars offered by the PsycINFO database provider
• PsycArticles Indexes articles in journals published by the American Psychological Association (including APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber). Also includes APA handbooks and psychological tests and measurements.
  • Quick reference guide - How to search PsycArticles
• MEDLINE (Ovid) Covers international biomedical literature, including allied health. Indexes approximately 5,400 journals.
  • Brief video on MEDLINE (15 min)
  • Brief video on advanced search techniques in MEDLINE (11 min)
  • Sign up for free live training webinars offered by the MEDLINE database provider

Multidisciplinary databases

• Scopus Major multidisciplinary database that includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.
• Web of Science Major multidisciplinary database for the Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, as well as the Sciences. Includes backward and forward citation linking as well as citation counts.
• Google Scholar Searches scholarly literature across disciplines and sources and includes some grey literature. Learn how to search for McGill Library's full text holdings here.

• Cochrane Library  Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, other reviews (DARE), Cochrane Controlled Trials Register (CENTRAL), methods studies, health technology assessments and economic evaluations.
• Evidence-Based Mental Health Journal Clinicians assess the relevance of studies from international medical journals. Key details of these essential articles are presented in a succinct, informative expert commentary on their clinical application.
• PubMed Clinical Queries  Limits PubMed search results to specific clinical research areas.
• TRIP Database (Turning Research into Practice) Search tool for high-quality clinical research evidence. Users can sort results by geographical area, and level of evidence.
• Clinical Practice Guidelines
  • US National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC)
  • Canadian Medical Association Infobase: Clinical Practice Guidelines

Search the following tools to find theses and dissertations:

• eScholarship@McGill 

  • An open access digital repository of publications and theses of McGill University faculty and students.
• ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Full Text
  • Summaries and/or full text of dissertations from McGill University, as well as from other participating North American and European institutions.