Guides: Philosophy: Find Articles

Philosophy Databases

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database offers informative, author-written abstracts covering scholarly research in all areas of philosophy. The literature covered goes back to 1940 and includes journal articles, books, book chapters such as contributions to an anthology and book reviews.
International Philosophical Bibliography (Peeters)
- This link opens in a new window
Poiesis - Philosophy Documentation Center
- This link opens in a new window
Publishes a range of reference materials, scholarly journals, book series, conference proceedings, and other materials in philosophy and related fields. McGill subscribes to 16 journal titles on Poiesis.
McGill subscribes to:
American Catholic Philosophical Quarterly,
The American Journal of Semiotics,
Ancient Philosophy,
Call to Earth,
Environmental Ethics,
Environmental Philosophy,
Faith and Philosophy,
International Philosophical Quarterly,
Journal of Philosophical Research,
The Journal of Philosophy,
The Journal of Philosophy, Psychology and Scientific Methods,
New Vico Studies,
The Owl of Minerva,
Philosophical Topics,
Philosophy Research Archives,
Southwestern Journal of Philosophy,
Philpapers : Philosophical Research Online
- This link opens in a new window
Philosophy Collection (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
This collection brings together the Philosopher’s Index with full text journals and dissertations from the Philosophy Database. 1860-present
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Access to selected e-book content from University Presses.
To access the text-mining option see JSTOR Data for Research
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.
ProQuest Research Library
- This link opens in a new window
Provides one-stop access to thousands of full-text periodicals from one of the broadest, most inclusive general reference databases ProQuest has to offer. Search from a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, professional and trade publications, and magazines covering over 150 subjects and topics. Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
FRANCIS - Humanities and Social Sciences (CNRS)
Access to more than 20 million references (articles, patents, maps, conferences, books, reports and thesis) in exact sciences and technology, in biological and medical sciences, in art, archaeology, economics, ethnology, geography, history of science and technology, literature, linguistics, administrative and legal sciences, education and religion sciences.
Humanities Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
An international abstracting and indexing tool for research in the humanities, covering humanities journals, weekly magazines and newspapers published in the UK and other English speaking countries. Coverage: 1962 - current.
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Librarian

Veronica Bergsten

she/her

Email me

Contact:

Humanities and Social Sciences Library
Bibliothèque des sciences humaines et sociales
3459 McTavish
Montreal, Quebec
H3A 0C9

514-396-2067

Subjects: Kinesiology and physical education, Linguistics, Philosophy

Legend

McGill users only
Open access resource
Free resource
In-library use (resources only accessible in branch)
Catalogue record (used when linking to catalogue record)