Guides: Italian Studies: Find Articles

Literary

Bibliografia generale della lingua e della letteratura italiana.
- This link opens in a new window
Online version of the print covering aspects of the study of Italian language and literature published 1991-2014..
This is an index only - a finding aid to published books , articles and essays. Relevant titles of books and journals are to be searched in Sofia - the Library catalogue.

Romanische Bibliographie Online Datenbank (De Gruyter)
- This link opens in a new window
A database in Romance languages and literature annually updated and containing a large section on Italian literature.. Relevant books and journal articles are to be searched in Sofia, the library catalogue, under title of the book or the title of the journal/magazine.
Periodicals Archive Online (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
covers material published 1850-2005 in several languages including Italian.
Arts & Humanities (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
Arts and Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI) (Web of Science)
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. (1975-present)
Iter: Gateway to the Middles Ages and Renaissance
- This link opens in a new window
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Access to more than 10 million academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. Access to selected e-book content from University Presses.
To access the text-mining option see JSTOR Data for Research
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Project Muse
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-book and e-journals collection covering the digital humanities and social sciences since 1995.
Unlimited simultaneous users.
Bibliographie internationale de l'humanisme et de la Renaissance (Brepols)
- This link opens in a new window
International reference bibliography of academic publications on the Renaissance and the early modern period. The IBHR is a continuation of the Bibliographie internationale de l'Humanisme et de la Renaissance, coordinated and published by Librairie Droz since 1965. 3 simultaneous users.

Mirabile : Archivio digitale della cultura latina medievale = Digital archive for medieval latin culture.

Film

Film Index International (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
A resource for entertainment films and personalities produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute. Films from over 170 countries have been indexed with coverage from 1900 to present. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Film and Television Literature Index (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Wide variety of resources, including full-text film and television journals, international periodicals, monographs, yearbooks, conference papers and much more.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
International Index to Film Periodicals from the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF) offers in-depth indexed coverage of academic and popular film journals. Also contains FIAF's “Treasures from Film Archives”; a detailed index of the silent-era film holdings of archives from around the world, a selection of Reference volumes and the linked full-text of over 60 journals. - Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub
Performing Arts Periodicals Database (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly IIPA - International Index to the Performing Arts.
This database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 395 international periodicals, plus full text for more than 160 of the indexed journals. The database currently includes almost a million records, the majority from the most recent ten years of each journal. It covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more. Coverage: 1864 - current
Library can facilitate negotiating text-mining rights for this database for McGill faculty and students wishing to acquire the rights with their own research funds. Please contact Digital Scholarship Hub

Italian Studies Journals

ITALINEMO
Italian studies journals around the world.

Legend

Tips for using Google Scholar

To connect Google Scholar to the McGill Libraries:

Click on Settings
Click on Library Links
Search for McGill
Click the box that says “McGill University Library – McGill Library Full Text”
Click on Save

To connect Google Scholar to EndNote:

Click on Settings
Scroll down
Under Bibliography Manager choose "EndNote" from the drop down menu
Click on Save