Guides: Environmental Studies: Find Articles

Core databases

Looking for articles on environmental topics? Try these specialized databases:

Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Aims to provide comprehensive coverage of the literature relating to environmental sciences. Coverage ranges from 1967-present, and includes scholarly material, as well as a variety of grey literature publications
GreenFILE (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage of literature relating to the human impact on the environment. Topics covered include green issues, global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.

See search tips, including which symbols to use for truncation and wildcards, and searching with proximity operators, for EBSCO databases (such as GreenFILE) and ProQuest databases (such as Agricultural and Environmental Sciences Collection).

Multidisciplinary databases

Scopus (Elsevier)
- This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary science and social sciences database that is capable of backward and forward citation linking and includes citation counts. It also offers author profiles with affiliations, publication number and bibliographic data.
Web of Science Core Collection (All Indexes)
- This link opens in a new window
Large multidisciplinary science and social sciences database with coverage from 1900 and that is capable of backward and forward citation linking and includes citation counts. It also offers citation reports.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
- This link opens in a new window
A scholarly, multidisciplinary database providing indexing and abstracts for over 10,000 publications, including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, and others.

See search tips, including which symbols to use for truncation and wildcards, and searching with proximity operators, for Scopus and Web of Science.

Other related databases

Annual Reviews
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals of critical reviews of a variety of topics. Of particular interest is "Annual Reviews of Environment and Resources"
CAB Abstracts
- This link opens in a new window
Aims to provide comprehensive & international coverage of English-language applied life sciences literature (includes, for example, climate change, environmental science, invasive species, natural resources management, conservation, etc.). Includes scientific publications, as well as grey literature, spanning 1973-present
CAB Abstracts Archive
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of CAB Abstracts: 1910-1972
Canadian Research Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
"The Canadian Research Index (CRI) provides detailed citations to monographs and serial publications of lasting reference value from Canadian government and institutional sources. Federal, provincial and municipal levels of government are covered. At the federal level, both depository and non-depository publications are included." Dates of coverage are 1900-2018
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
- This link opens in a new window
"Includes research, analysis and scholarship on international politics and related fields including including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies."
PAIS Index (ProQuest)
- This link opens in a new window
Formerly "PAIS International". Covers global public policy, social issues, demography, environmental studies, general social sciences.