Skip to Main Content

McGill Library: Databases A-Z

enviro* finds environment, environmental, EnviroNetBase, etc.

Take a look at our new Databases A–Z webpage, currently in beta!



Loading...
Loading...
Loading...

New/trial databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. For study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography, the database contains more than over 100,000 pages of full-text material at completion, including tens of thousands of pages of previously unpublished material from major archives.
The study of environmental history emerged in the 1960s, inspired by the popularity of emerging environmentalist movements, but concerns about human intervention and interaction with the natural environment can be traced much further back. Starting in the late nineteenth century, in direct response to the Industrial Revolution, forces in social and political spheres across the globe struggled to balance the good of the public and the planet against the economic exploitation of resources. In Environmental History, researchers may explore the history of the environment and conservation efforts across the globe from the late 1800s onwards.
Alternate Name(s) Hindi Cinema
These engaging and unfiltered interviews originate from the groundbreaking 1980s TV series on Hindi Cinema, Movie Mahal, and subsequent TV programmes produced by Kabir. This material marks the first time that a significant number of Indian film practitioners were filmed for a British broadcaster. Their rich insights are a window into the industry and the wider social and cultural context of Hindi cinema. Other collection highlights include behind-the-scenes photographs from film sets and popular Indian film posters from the British Film Institute (BFI).
History of Disabilities: Disabilities in Society, Seventeenth to Twentieth Century provides historical evidence demonstrating how society has interacted with and regarded individuals considered to have disabilities.

To optimize the accessibility of the History of Disabilities digital archive, Gale employed a "double OCR, compare, and manual correct" method to ensure at least 98% accuracy in the OCR text included in this archive. --Publisher.
The collections in the archive provide distinctive windows into the social history of the nineteenth and twentieth century with topics that resonate with current events in the twenty-first century.
Comprehensive, multi-format destination for teaching, learning, and research in the field of education covering educational leadership, educational technology, pedagogy, education policy, special education, and many other areas. Full-text items including scholarly journals, videos, dissertations, reference work, grey literature, popular news sources, and more are supplemented by Topic Pages covering Educational Theories, Featured Topics, Policies, Key Theorists, and Research Concepts.--ProQuest.
Public Health Archives: Public Health in Modern America, 1890-1970 documents the rise of the twentieth-century public health system in the United States through correspondence, reports, pamphlets, ephemera, and more. For scholars in the fields of American history, American studies, history of science and medicine, public health studies, sociology, political science, psychology, and economics, it documents through primary sources that record the evolution and impact of public health legislation, policies, and campaigns at the local, national, and federal levels, opening for researchers a new window on the roles played by key organizations and individuals to advance public health.
Religions of America traces the history and unique character of religious movements that originated in or were re-shaped by the United States during the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.
Security Issues Online delves into conflicts, policies, and relationships that have impacted the global arena throughout modern history
Alternate Name(s) UKPressOnline
The resource brings together diaries and oral histories to enable students and researchers to explore the lives of hundreds of individuals from diverse backgrounds, from abolitionists to suffragists, and royalty to republicans. Vivid narratives cover a wide range of themes, including domestic life, travel, sport, feminism, gender fluidity, and class with the collection providing a platform for working class, LGBTQ+, and disabled women’s voices.
title
Loading...

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice