Skip to main content

Special COVID-19: Islamic, Middle East and South Asian studies Open resources

This guide is meant to provide Islamic, Middle Eastern and South Asian studies Faculty and Students with alternatives to the print collections that are currently univailable. This list will be updated weekly to include newly published or opened resources.

WorldCat Discovery

SEARCH EVERYTHING AT MCGILL

 

Search WorldCat Discovery for McGill books, articles, etc.

UCLA Forum on Remote Research Possibilities for CNES Graduate students

UCLA Center for Near Eastern Studies. Forum on Remote Research Possibilities for CNES Graduate Students - Session 1. Panel with Charles Kurzman (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill), and Dale J. Correa (University of Texas at Austin Library). May 18th, 2020. Video / Podcast

UCLA Center for Near Eastern Studies. Forum on Remote Research Possibilities for CNES Graduate Students - Session 2. Panel with Virginia Danielson (New York University Library, Abu Dhabi campus) Roberta L. Dougherty (Yale University Library). May 20th, 2020. Video / Podcast.

Acess to Middle East and Islamic Resources (AMIR)

AMIR was created to answer "the need for a tool to assemble and distribute information on Open Access material relating to the Middle East." Based on an existing blog -Ancient World Online (AWOL)- model, AMIR "welcomes and encourages active participation." Access to the resources referenced in AMIR is  possible via alphabetical indexes:

Directory of Free Arab Journals (DFAJ)

The Directory of Free Arab Journals (DFAJ) is a directory of Open Access journals published in the Arab World maintained by a group of OA activists in the region, and includes 319 journals from 150 publishers in 18 different countries.

HAZINE: a guide to researching the middle east and beyond

HAZINE is an online repository of articles about available resources and archives, interviews with researchers, and consistent essays on topic relating to Middle East studies aiming "to provide archives and library guides for researchers working on the Middle East, North Africa, and Islamicate societies."

مدونة مكتبة الدراسات الاسلامية في جامعة مكغيل : Resources for Islamic Studies

The Islamic Studies Library Blog promotes the activities of the McGill Islamic Studies Library and its communities: the Institute of Islamic Studies faculty, students, and visiting scholars, the McGill, Montreal, Quebec communities, and beyond. It covers a wide range of topics related to Islamic and Middle East Studies such as important acquisitions and new services, conferences and lectures, exhibitions and digitization projects, cultural events, etc.

COVID-19 CLOSURE (Single owner/ Mention of virtual consultation)

Further to Quebec government and university directives, McGill campuses are currently closed. As a result, all library branches are closed until further notice. Library staff will continue to provide virtual reference during service hours. I will also be available via email and virtual consultation. For more information about the closure, please visit our COVID -19 | Library Closure & Service Disruptions FAQ.

Librarian

Anaïs Salamon's picture
Anaïs Salamon
Contact:
3485 McTavish Street
Montreal, QC
H3A 0E1
514-398-4688
Website

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice