You can search for materials on course reserve using the course code or name of the instructor.
Applied Clinical Pharmacokinetics and Pharmacodynamics of Psychopharmacological Agents by
Thisbook is a comprehensive resource on psychotropic medications, detailing thelatest methods for defining their characteristics, their use in differentpatient populations, and drug-drug interactions; an important collection ofinformation forclinicians, students, researchers, and members of thepharmaceutical industry alike. Thefirst section provides the foundational principles of these drugs. Mathematicalmodeling of parameters that affect their entryto,and exit from, the centralnervous system (CNS) compartment are presented on an individual basis and thenapplied to target populations with specific disease states. Methods andcharacteristics that inform the transfer of these drugs from the laboratorybench to use in patient care are discussed, including imaging techniques,genetics and physiological barriers, such as the blood-brain barrier. The secondsection describes the characteristics of specific agents,nominally arrangedintodifferent therapeutic categories and with reference crossover use indifferent disease states. The pharmacologic characteristics of different drugformulations are explored in the context of their ability to improve patientadherence. The third section focuses on drug-drug interactions.Psychotropic medicationsfrom different categories are frequently prescribed together,or alongsidemedications used to treat comorbid conditions, and the information provided isdirectly relevant to the clinic, as a result. Theclinical application of pharmacokinetics and pharmacodynamics of CNS agents hasmade significant progress over the past 50 years and new information is reportedby numerous publications in psychiatry, neurology, and pharmacology.Ourunderstanding of the interrelationship between these medications, receptors,drug transporters, as well as techniques for measurement and monitoring theirinteractions,isfrequently updated. However, with information presented on ahost of different platforms, and in different formats, obtaining the fullpicture can be difficult. This title aims to collate this information into asingle source that can be easily interpreted and applied towards patient careby the clinical practitioner, and act as a reference for all others who have aninterest in psychopharmacological agents.
Applied Therapeutics by
This widely used text uses a case-based approach to help students master the fundamentals of drug therapeutics. Students will learn the basics of common diseases and disorders and develop practical problem-solving skills for devising and implementing successful drug treatment regimens. Case studies integrated into each chapter illustrate key concepts and principles of therapeutics and give students practice in developing their own evidence-based therapeutic plans.
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The most up-to-date, comprehensive, and authoritative pharmacology text in health medicine--enhanced by a new full-color illustrations A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Organized to reflect the syllabi in many pharmacology courses and in integrated curricula, Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, Fourteenth Edition covers the important concepts students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice. Selection of the subject matter and order of its presentation are based on the authors' many years' experience in teaching this material to thousands of medical, pharmacy, dental, podiatry, nursing, and other health science students. To be as clinically relevant as possible, the book includes sections that specifically address the clinical choice and use of drugs in patients and the monitoring of their effects, and case studies that introduce clinical problems in many chapters. Presented in full color and enhanced by more than three hundred illustrations (many new to this edition), Basic & Clinical Pharmacology features numerous summary tables and diagrams that encapsulate important information. * Student-acclaimed summary tables conclude each chapter * Everything students need to know about the science of pharmacology and its application to clinical practice * Strong emphasis on drug groups and prototypes * NEW! 100 new drug tables * Includes 330 full-color illustrations, case studies, and chapter-ending summary tables * Organized to reflect the syllabi of pharmacology courses * Descriptions of important new drugs
Biological Concepts and Techniques in Toxicology by
Highlighting the latest advances in molecular biology, mathematical modeling, quantitative risk assessment, and biopharmaceutical development, this reference presents how current scientific applications and methods impact and revolutionize mainstream toxicological research. Presenting findings from disciplines that will impact the future of toxicol
Cassrett and Doull's Essentials of Toxicology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Understand the essential principles of toxicology and how poisons affect the human body with this accessible and engaging summary A Doody's Core Title for 2017! Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology is an easy-to-absorb distillation of the major principles and concepts that were presented in depth in Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Eighth Edition, the field's gold-standard text. Presented in full color, the book concisely describes the science of toxicology, and includes important concepts from anatomy, physiology, and biochemistry to facilitate the understanding of the principles and mechanisms of toxicant action on specific organ systems. A summary of key points at the beginning and review questions at the end of each chapter help you study, understand, and memorize the material. Reflecting the expertise of more than sixty renowned contributors, Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology is logically divided into seven sections: Succinct and comprehensive, there is no better text for gaining an understanding of essential principles, toxicokinetics, how toxic effects are passed on to succeeding generations, how each body system responds to poisons, and the specific effects of a wide range of toxic agents than Casarett & Doull's Essentials of Toxicology.
Goodman and Gilman's the Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, 13th Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. The gold-standard of pharmacology texts - completely updated to reflect the latest research and developments A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Goodman & Gilman's: The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics, Thirteenth Edition represents the pinnacle of authority and accuracy in describing the actions and uses of therapeutic agents in relation to physiology and pathophysiology. Goodman & Gilman's careful balance of basic science and clinical application has guided thousands of practitioners and students to a clear understanding of the drugs essential to preventing, diagnosing, and treating disease. The Thirteenth Edition includes more than 500 color illustrations, with many new figures emphasizing mechanisms of drug action. More than 30 new contributors have added to this edition, while the focus on basic principles is undiminished. This edition is enhanced by timely new content: * NEW chapters including Treatment of Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension, Immunity and Inflammation, Immunoglobulins and Vaccines, and Treatment of Viral Hepatitis * Expanded coverage of cardiovascular disease, with separate chapters on myocardial ischemia, hypertension, and heart failure * Increased emphasis on cellular signaling pathways involved in drug action * Summary tables at the end of each chapter that organize drugs discussed in that chapter into relevant categories and detail therapeutic usage, clinical pharmacology, and tips * Chapter Content Outlines at the beginning of each chapter * Abbreviation boxes in every chapter to easily identify the abbreviations appearing in that chapter More than a textbook, Goodman & Gilman's is a working template for the effective and rational prescribing of drugs in daily practice.
Netter's illustrated pharmacology by
This updated edition of Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology allows you to take a distinct visual approach to understanding both the basic science and clinical applications of pharmacology. Designed to be compatible and used in conjunction with other pharmacology resources, this medical reference book offers a vivid, uniquely effective visual presentation of the pharmacodynamic relationship between drugs and the human body. And with the new addition of Student Consult online access, Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology is even more convenient than ever before! Available online for the first time! Search the full contents of Netter's Illustrated Pharmacology no matter what your location with convenient access to Student Consult. Visually grasp the most important principles in pharmacology with succinct, easy-to-understand presentations of introductory pharmacologic principles based on classic images by Frank Netter, as well as dynamic new illustrations from other talented medical artists. Learn how drugs are used to treat specific disorders in the body, as well as their effects on a particular site, with a format divided by organ system and full-color illustrations of the systems themselves. Access in-depth guidance on the must-know elements of each pharmacologic principle with clear, concise notes located beneath the corresponding image.
Pharmacology by
Designed to help you learn and retain key information in pharmacology, this foundational text takes you from course exams and the USMLE Step 1 right through to clinical practice. Brenner and Stevens' Pharmacology, 5th Edition, focuses on the essential principles you need to know, in a concise yet comprehensive manner that's easy to understand. Highly illustrated and formatted for quick reference, it's your go-to text for the must-know aspects of pharmacology you'll need for clinical problem solving and decision making. Teaches the fundamental aspects of pharmacology using full-color illustrations, detailed explanations, and a consistent format to present classification of drugs for each system/disease. Features useful tables, drug classifications boxes, case studies, and self-assessments in each chapter to help you review and prepare for course exams and Step 1. Student ConsultT eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience allows you to search all of the text, figures, references, and animations, designed to produce a more rounded learning experience. You'll also find an additional glossary, chapter-by-chapter summaries and case studies, a full list of featured drugs, 150 USMLE-style questions, and more. Includes the latest pharmacologic mechanisms and applications with new and updated drug information throughout.
A Practical Guide to Toxicology and Human Health Risk Assessment by
Toxicology - the study of the adverse effects of chemicals on living organisms is the cornerstone to all aspects of chemical safety and knowledge of the subject is needed in a wide spectrum of fields from the chemical industry to medicine, emergency services, forensics, and regulatory science. Toxicology involves the study of symptoms, mechanisms, treatments and detection of poisoning ... especially the poisoning of people. The many problems arising from a poor understanding of toxicology and its applications in hazard communication and chemical safety motivated the author's training courses and webinars, leading to this valuable book. Providing a practical and accessible guide, A Practical Guide to Toxicology and Human Health Risk Assessment enables readers to quickly build up knowledge and understanding of toxicology and its use in hazard identification, which is a fundamental part of chemical risk assessment. The book also covers current toxicological testing strategies and the use of physicochemical test data in hazard identification and exposure assessment. Examples are provided throughout the book to highlight important issues along with a summary of the key points that have been covered in each of the respective chapters. The book concludes with a listing of online resources on toxicology and risk assessment.
Rang and Dale's pharmacology by
Comprehensive yet easy to use, Rang and Dale's Pharmacology has been providing core basic and clinical science information to students and healthcare practitioners worldwide for more than 25 years. The fully revised 9th Edition keeps you up to date with all that's new in the field, including new and emerging drugs and recent studies. From cover to cover, you'll progressively increase your knowledge of all relevant aspects of pharmacology, from a molecular understanding of receptors and drug actions through clinical uses of key groups of drugs
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology by
With this fully revised fourth edition, Dr Stahl returns to the essential roots of what it means to become a neurobiologically empowered psychopharmacologist, expertly guided in the selection and combination of treatments for individual patients in practice. Embracing the unifying themes of 'symptom endophenotypes', dimensions of psychopathology that cut across syndromes, and 'symptoms and circuits', every aspect of the text has been updated to the frontiers of current knowledge, with the clarity of explanation and illustration that only Dr Stahl can bring. Integrating much of the basic neuroscience into the clinical chapters, and with major additions in the areas of psychosis, antipsychotics, antidepressants, impulsivity, compulsivity and addiction, this is the single most readily readable source of information on disease and drug mechanisms. This remains the essential text for all students and professionals in mental health seeking to understand and utilize current therapeutics, and to anticipate the future for novel medications.
Textbook of Pharmacoepidemiology by
Textbook of Pharmacoepidemiology, Second Edition, provides an introduction to pharmacoepidemiology and the data sources, methods and applications used in clinical research, the pharmaceutical industry and regulatory agencies. Drawing upon the fifth edition of the authoritative reference, Pharmacoepidemiology, this new edition covers the key learning requirements of the discipline. The textbook provides an introduction to pharmacoepidemiology, pharmacoepidemiological data sources, special issues in methodology, special applications and future developments in the field. Updated learning features such as case studies, key points and Suggested Further Reading are included throughout the text. Textbook of Pharmacoepidemiology is a practical educational resource for upper-level undergraduates, graduate students, post-doctoral fellows in schools of public health, pharmacy and medicine, and for everyone learning and working in pharmacoepidemiology.
Toxicology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Toxicology's gold-standard text - completely updated to reflect the latest breakthroughs and discoveries A Doody's Core Title for 2019! Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Ninth Edition equips you with an unsurpassed understanding of modern toxicology, including the key principles, concepts, mechanisms, chemical-specific toxicity, and modes of thought that are the foundation of the discipline. This trusted classic not only delivers a comprehensive review of the essential components of toxicology, it offers the most up-to-date, revealing, and in-depth look at the systemic responses of toxic substance available anywhere. Casarett & Doull's Toxicology: The Basic Science of Poisons, Ninth Edition is logically divided into seven sections: * General Principles of Toxicology * Disposition of Toxicants * Non-Organ Directed Toxicity * Target Organ Toxicity * Toxic Agents * Environmental Toxicology * Applications of Toxicology Many new contributors capture the progress made in toxicology over the past few years: This edition is markedly updated from the previous edition, with more than one-third of the chapters authored by scientists who have not made previous contributions to the book. Sharing their expertise, they deliver dynamic new coverage of the importance of apoptosis, autophagy, cytokines, growth factors, oncogenes, cell cycling, receptors, gene regulation, protective mechanisms, repair mechanisms, transcription factors, signaling pathways, transgenic mice, knock-out mice, humanized mice, polymorphisms, microarray technology, second-generation sequencing, genomics, proteomics, epigenetics, exposome, microbiota, read across, adverse outcome pathways, high-content screening, computational toxicology, innovative test methods, and organ-on-a-chip in understanding the mechanisms of toxicity and the regulation of chemicals. A true "essential" If you are in need of an up-to-date, all-in-one overview of the biomedical and environmental aspects of toxicology - written by experts, and presented in full color, your search ends here.
McGill Library • Questions? Ask us!
Privacy notice
