Skip to main content

Performance guide - viola / alto: Home

Library resources for viola / alto

Repertoire guides / Guides de répertoire

  • Grunberg, Max. Führer Durch die Literatur der Streichinstrumente (Violine, Viola, Violoncello). Niederwalluf bei Wiesbaden: M. Sandig, 1971.
    REF ML128 S7 G7 1971
  • Jappe, Michael, and D. Jappe. Viola Bibliographie: das Repertoire für die Historische Bratsche von 1649 bis nach 1800: Kommentiertes Thematisches Verzeichnis. Winterthur: Amadeus, 1999.
    REF ML128 V36 J37 1999
  • Klugherz, Laura. A Bibliographical Guide to Spanish Music for the Violin and Viola, 1900-1997. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1998.
    REF ML128 V4 K58 1998
  • Weaver, Michael Alan. Works for the Viola by Pulitzer Prize Winning Composers: An Annotated Bibliography. Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, 2006.
    REF ML128 V36 W43 2006
  • Williams, Michael Day. Music for Viola. Détroit, Mich.: Information coordinators, 1979.
    REF ML128 V36 W53
  • Zeyringer, Franz. Literatur für Viola. Hartberg: Schönwetter, 1976.
    REF ML128 V36 Z5 1976

Books about the viola / Livres sur l'alto

Dalton, David. Playing the Viola: Conversations with William Primrose. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 1988.
MT280 D34 1988

Kella, John Jake. The Development and Qualitative Evaluation of a Comprehensive Music Curriculum for Viola: With an Historical Survey of Violin and Viola Instructional Literature from the 16th through 20th Centuries. Ann Arbor, Mich.: University Microfilms International, 1983.
MT280 K45 1983a; or Online via Proquest Dissertations & Theses

Lainé, Frédéric. L’Alto. Bressuire, France: Anne Fuzeau, 2010.
ML900 L34 A47 2010

Maurice, Donald. Bartók's Viola Concerto: The Remarkable Story of His Swansong. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.
MT130 B34 M28 2004; or eBook version

Riley, Maurice W. The History of the Viola. Ann Arbor, MI: Braun-Brumfield, c1980.
ML900 R43

White, John. Lionel Tertis: The First Great Virtuoso of the Viola. Woodbridge: Boydell Press, 2006.
ML418 T47 W45 2006

Lieberman, Julie Lyonn. Alternative Strings: The New Curriculum. Pompton Plains, N.J.: Amadeus Press, 2004.
MT259 L54 2004

Stowell, Robin. The Early Violin and Viola: A Practical Guide. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2001.
ML855 S79 2001; or eBook version

Online resources / Ressources en ligne

Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online)

Daniels' Orchestral Music Online

Literatur für Viola (Updates to Zeyringer repertoire bibliography on site of William Primrose Viola Archive)

Periodicals / Périodiques

American String Teacher
ML27 U5 A8356

Galpin Society Journal
ML5 G26

Strad
ML5 S89

Strings
ML749.5 S87

The Viola: Yearbook of the International Viola Research Society
ML900 V56

Call numbers for browsing / Cotes à parcourir

M45-M49 Viola solo / Alto seul
M224-M228 Viola and piano / Alto et piano
M286-M287 Duets – 2 string instruments / Duos – 2 instruments à cordes
M290-M291 Duets – string and wind instruments / Duos – instrument à cordes et instrument à vent
M294-M295 Duets – string and plucked instruments / Duos – instrument à cordes et instrument à cordes pincées
M1014-M1015 Viola with orchestra (or piano reduction) / Alto et orchestre
M1114-M1115 Viola with string orchestra (or piano reduction) / Alto et orchestre à cordes
   
ML128 V36 Viola bibliography / Bibliographie – alto
ML900-ML905 Viola history / Histoire – alto
MT280-MT298 Viola studies and methods / Étude et enseignement – alto
MT286 Viola orchestral excerpts / Études d’orchestre – alto
Loading

Librarian

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Music

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice