Skip to main content

Performance guide - trumpet / trompette: Home

Library resources for trumpet / trompette

Library resources for trumpet / trompette

 
 
 

Below are selected research tools for finding music for, and information about, the trumpet. Consult the McGill Library catalogue for complete holdings information. If you have further questions, please contact a member of the full-time staff for assistance.

Ce guide sert de point de départ ou d’outil de navigation. Consultez le catalogue pour obtenir les ressources documentaires complètes. Pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez un employé à temps plein.

Repertoire guides / Guides de répertoire

Anderson, Paul G. and Larry Bruce Campbell. Brass Music Guide: Solo and Study Material in Print. Northfield, IL: Instrumentalist Co., 1984.
REF ML128 W5 A6 1984

Cansler, Philip T. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Organ: An Annotated Bibliography. Nashville: Brass Press, 1984.
REF ML128 T78 C32 1984

Carnovale, Norbert. Twentieth-Century Music for Trumpet and Orchestra: An Annotated Bibliography. Nashville: Brass Press, 1975.
REF ML128 T78 C34

Haug, Hermann. Bibliography and Discography on Music for Solo Wind Instruments and Orchestra, v.3. Wiesbaden: Breitkopf & Härtel, Musica Rara, 2004.
ML128 W5 H38 2004

Horne, Aaron. Brass Music of Black Composers: A Bibliography. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
REF ML128 W5 H62 1996

Books about the trumpet / Livres sur la trompette

Ahrens, Christian. Valved Brasses: The History of an Invention. Hillsdale, NY: Pendragon Press, 2008.
ML933 A3713 2008

Barnhart, Scotty. The World of Jazz Trumpet :A Comprehensive History & Practical Philosophy. Milwaukee, WI: Hal Leonard, 2005.
ML399 B379 2005

Bate, Philip. The Trumpet and Trombone: An Outline of Their History, Development and Construction. London: Ernest Benn; New York: W. W. Norton, 1978.
ML960 B38 1978

Fasman, Mark J. Brass Bibliography: Sources on the History, Literature, Pedagogy, Performance, and Acoustics of Brass Instruments. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 1990.
REF ML128 W5 F3 1990

Gabbard, Krin. Hotter Than That: The Trumpet, Jazz, and American Culture . New York: Faber and Faber, 2008.
ML960 G33 2008

Smithers, Don L. The Music and History of the Baroque Trumpet before 1721. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 1988.
ML960 S63 1988

Online resources / Ressources en ligne

Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online)

Daniels' Orchestral Music Online

Periodicals / Périodiques

Brass Bulletin
ML5 B6864

Galpin Society Journal
ML5 G26

Historic Brass Society Journal
ML933 H57

ITG Journal (International Trumpet Guild)
ML1 I87

Jazz Magazine
ML5 J39

Jazziz
ML3505.8 J427

NACWPI Journal (National Association of College Wind and Percussion Instructors)
ML1 N37x

Call numbers for browsing / Cotes à parcourir

M85-M89 Trumpet solo / Trompette seule
M260-M261 Trumpet and piano / Trompette et piano
M288-M289 Duets – 2 wind instruments / Duos – 2 instruments à vent
M290-M291 Duets – wind and string instruments / Duos – instrument à vent et instrument à cordes
M296-M297 Duets – wind and plucked instruments / Duos – instrument à vent et instrument à cordes pincées
M1030-M1031 Trumpet with orchestra (or piano reduction) / Trompette et orchestre
M1130-M1131 Trumpet with string orchestra (or piano reduction) / Trompette et orchestre à cordes
   
ML128 T78 Trumpet bibliography / Bibliographie – trompette
ML960-ML963 Trumpet history / Histoire – trompette
MT440-MT456 Trumpet and related instruments studies and methods / Étude et enseignement – trompette
MT446 Trumpet orchestral excerpts / Études d’orchestre – trompette
Loading

Librarian

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Music

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice