Skip to main content

Performance guide - organ / orgue: Home

Library resources for organ / orgue

Library resources for organ / orgue

 
 
 

Below are selected research tools for finding music for, and information about, the organ. Consult the McGill Library catalogue for complete holdings information. If you have further questions, please contact a member of the full-time staff for assistance.

Ce guide sert de point de départ ou d’outil de navigation. Consultez le catalogue pour obtenir les ressources documentaires complètes. Pour de plus amples renseignements, contactez un employé à temps plein.

Books and repertoire guides / Livres et guides de répertoire

Arnold, Corliss Richard. Organ Literature: A Comprehensive Survey. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1995.
REF ML600 A76 1995

Beckmann, Klaus. Repertorium Orgelmusik: Komponisten, Werke, Editionen, 1150-2000, 57 Länder: eine Auswahl = A Bio-Bibliographical Index of Organ Music: Composers, Works, Editions, 1150-2000, 57 Countries: A Selection. Mainz; New York: Schott, 2000.
REF ML128 O6 B4 2001

Bush, Douglas E., and Richard Kassel, eds. The Organ: An Encyclopedia. Encyclopedia of Keyboard Instruments. New York: Routledge, 2006.
ML102 O7 O74 2006

Heinrich, Adel, comp. Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers: An Annotated Catalog. New York: Greenwood Press, 1991.
REF ML128 O6 O73 1991

Hettinger, Sharon L. American Organ Music of the Twentieth Century: An Annotated Bibliography of Composers. Warren, MI: Harmonie Park Press, 1997.
REF ML106 U3 H47 1997

Kratzenstein, Marilou. Survey of Organ Literature and Editions. Ames: Iowa State University Press, 1980.
ML600 K73

Laster, James H. Catalogue of Music for Organ and Instruments. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press, 2005.
ML128 O6 L34 2005

Lukas, Victor. A Guide to Organ Music. Anne Wyburd, trans. Portland, OR: Amadeus Press, c1989.
MT140 L8413 1989

Rust, Ezra Gardner. The Music and Dance of the World’s Religions: A Comprehensive, Annotated Bibliography of Materials in the English Language. Westport, CT: Greenwood Press, 1996.
REF ML128 S2 R87 1996

Sharp, Avery T., and James Michael Floyd. Church and Worship Music: An Annotated Bibliography of Contemporary Scholarship; A Research and Information Guide. New York: Routledge, 2005.
REF ML128 C54 S53 2005

Sloane, Sally Jo. Music for Two or More Players at Clavichord, Harpsichord, Organ: An Annotated Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, c1991.
REF ML128 K5 S55 1991

Online resources / Ressources en ligne

Oxford Music Online (includes Grove Music Online)

Daniels' Orchestral Music Online

Olford, Gertrude Carolyn. “Annotated Catalogue of Canadian Solo Organ Music, 1981-1996.” In Four Organ Recitals and an Essay: Selected Canadian Solo Organ Music 1981-1996: Introduction and Annotated Catalogue, pp. 40-71.

Call numbers for browsing / Cotes à parcourir

M6-M19 Organ and harmonium solo / Orgue et harmonium seuls
M180-M181 Duets – one or more organs, 2 or more players/ Duos – un orgue ou plus, 2 interprètes ou plus
M182-M186 Duets – organ and one other instrument / Duos – orgue et un autre instrument
M190 Duets – 2 harmoniums / Duos – 2 harmoniums
M191-M195 Duets – harmonium and one other instrument / Duos – harmonium et un autre instrument
M1005-M1006 Organ with orchestra / Orgue et orchestre
M1108-M1109 Organ with string orchestra / Orgue et orchestre à cordes
   
ML128 K5 Keyboard bibliography / Bibliographie – instruments à clavier
ML128 O6 Organ bibliography / Bibliographie – orgue
ML550-ML649 Organ history / Histoire – orgue
MT180-MT208 Organ and related instruments studies and methods / Étude et enseignement – orgue (et instruments connexes)
Loading

Librarian

Music Library Staff's picture
Music Library Staff
Contact:
Elizabeth Wirth Music Building
3rd floor - 527 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3A 1E3
514-398-4692
Website / Blog Page
Subjects:Music

Resource key

  • McGill users only
  • Open access resource
  • Free resource
  • In-library use
  • Catalogue record

McGill LibraryQuestions? Ask us!
Privacy notice